n o w p l a y i n g - s c r i p t b i n - f a n c l u b - s t u d i o

make love to the camera



Feb 21, 2001 - 8:20 am

From Gnomes to Shillehlaghs

I have no idea what malicious gnomes have snuck into the quality and standards center of my brain. I am referring, of course, to my last entry, in which I decided to ramble aimlessly about, of all fascinating topics, food. But! In my defense, I was talking about showbiz food, which, as all of you now know, is a very special type of food indeed.

CORRECTIONS: I do concede, however, that any entry which contains the phrase 'Beef Fucking Wellington' (ironically or not) is probably not up to my usual high journalistic standards. FadeIn regrets the error.

OK. Hi. How are you?

It's February, and something funky is in the air.

I've noticed in more than few people, including myself. For the last week or so I was smack dab in the middle of some intense funkitude, also known as 'the blahs,' 'the winter blues,' and, clinically, 'seasonal affective disorder.' At least, I assume that's what's going on. Like I said, I've noticed other people feeling blue more so in their diaries (even for diaryland). People want new and different things to happen, they want to make personal life changes, it seems.

That's pretty much why I didn't update for that week or so. I was feeling low. Overall, my life is fine. School's good, got the JC show going (which, as I found out, is as yet unnamed...they're considering 'What About Joan?' much to my dismay), love life is moving along pleasantly. Nothing to be sad or angsty about, but I was. Without dwelling on this oh so fun topic too much longer, I think I just needed to change my attitude from one of 'Fuck. A whole damn year of school left.' to 'Yes! One more year to go and then I'm done!'

And so I did.

In other news, Sally and I are entering what is basically a screenplay contest for Nickelodeon. We're both submitting television 'spec' scripts. I'm submitting my Simpson's script, and I helped her whip up an episode of Grosse Pointe, which, if you haven't seen, you should. The prize is a one year fellowship with Nickelodeon, in either New York or LA, with a $36,000 salary attached. There are five of these fellowships available. Of course, the nightmare scenario is that we both win, and then one of us is sent to the west coast and the other to the east coast. We won't know til June, though, so there's plenty of time to develop ulcers as we wait for the Nick to decide our fates.

I will leave you with two quick facts. One: Part of my now defunct funk has roots in my wanderlst. I've been dreaming that I've been in New York and London. On alternating nights, strangely enough. As I have no money, I must expect to remain lustful for at least a while longer.

Two:Due to entirely baseless concerns about my security here in this apartment, I have now placed an Irish walking stick, or shillelagh (SHILL-LAY-LAY) next to my front door. It's not that I'm paranoid, it's just that it kind of looks cool in the corner. And, let's face it, if anyone ever tries to break in here, I have to hit them with something.

Last Time On FadeIn - Next Week's Show

i am one bad updater:

enter email to find out when i update. powered by notifylist.com