n o w p l a y i n g - s c r i p t b i n - f a n c l u b - s t u d i o

make love to the camera



July 28, 2003 - 10:37 am

"I'd Hate To Get A Black Eye, Because If I Did, What's To Say It Won't Also Become Lazy?"

Oh, yes.

So, that's our brief little description for the two shows my team, The Excuses, has coming up in August. It was written by yours truly, and it offers you a peak at my super secret last name. Let your stalking commence.

We're going to promote the hell out of these shows, in the hopes that we may get ourselves a more regular time slot in the future. I've got ideas swimming around for fliers and postcards. The roommate has a brilliant idea for a brief, pre-show video that he's offered to shoot and edit.

It feels really good to be involved in something creative I actually care about. It's been a while since I had that. Writing the second draft of 'From Justin To Kelly' just wasn't as fulfilling as I'd hoped it would be.

When my three page Justin monologue on objectivism as it related to mid 90's consumer spending ended up on the cutting room floor, I was so very disillusioned.

So, on Sunday nights, I run lights for all the shows at the IO. One of the shows is The Extravaganza, and it's not improv, but essentially an open mic for stand ups who want to practice new material. After having seen this many, many times, I have some advice for anyone out there that's thinking they might want to give stand up a try.

1: If you're not Don Rickles (and if you are, hi Don!), don't go racist. Especially if a) your delivery is Steven Wright in style, b) you're just some random white dude who hasn't yet won over the audience and c) it's not part of your overall act anyway, but you've just decided to throw in some ethnic slurs with the rest of your material. I now know what it's like to watch a guy get on stage, tell a joke, and be met with complete silence. No coughing, groaning, or uncomfortable coughing. Silence. This continued for five minutes.

2: While on stage, never simulate using a vibrator on a woman. I shant say that it looks very classy.

3: Just because you saw 'Seabiscuit' over the weekend does not mean we want to hear eight minutes of material about how horse racing would be different if you were in charge.

4: If you're the last "comic," and your entire "bit" consists of you making fun of all the previous comics, even going so far as to call one of the female comics a "hobbit" because she was wearing sandals and is Italian, we will turn on the music and pull down your lights while you're mid-sentence. And we did.

It was an ugly, ugly night.

Last Time On FadeIn - Next Week's Show

i am one bad updater:

enter email to find out when i update. powered by notifylist.com