n o w p l a y i n g - s c r i p t b i n - f a n c l u b - s t u d i o

make love to the camera



April 11, 2003 - 10:11 am

There Are Mountains Along Oak Street Beach, Made Of Steel And Just As Beautiful

It's shortly after 10am, and I already know that the song that's going to be stuck in my head all day will be Aha's 'Take On Me.'

I'm pretty happy about this, actually. I love that song.

Those high parts are really hard to whistle.

So, good morning, one and all. And how are you?

I don't know if I've ever mentioned this before, but I started working at the place where I learn and do the funny. Well, to say that I'm working is a bit of a stretch, as what I really do is run the light board there for a few shows once a week in exchange for free classes. It's monkey stuff, really, as I just bring the lights up at the beginning of show and throw them down at the end, tossing in a music cue here or there.

It's an exciting night for me when someone does something that calls for a spotlight, I tell you what.

Brief digression: There's a woman who works here that looks like an older Jennifer Aniston. She's a hip dresser and is incredibly cute. I'm not a big fan of Jennifer Aniston at all, but I must say that if my future woman looks like this office woman when she's 45, 50 years old, I will be most pleased.

Everyone, please make a mental note to yourselves to always stay cute. Thank you.

Way too much coffee.

So, lights last night: I had to run lights for a one woman show I saw for the first time. The cues were a snap, and I left convinced that I, or any of us really, could take these little entries we write and get onstage and do our own one person shows, if we were so inclined.

And I am, so I may. We'll see.

Her show was all about being a bridesmaid. It wasn't horrible, and would have been cute if it weren't for one thing.

Before her show, I went backstage to talk to her and figure out what she wanted, lights-wise. At this point, she was talking like a normal human being. I detected no abnormalities.

For some reason, for her show, she delivered everything in Valley Girl style. What this means is that at the end of each and every sentence she inflected up as if she were asking a question.

Example: So, like, I really hate weddings? My aunt from New England is always there and asks me if I have a boyfriend yet? And I just want to hook up with the best man?

Yes. I couldn't believe this. Her show would have been so much better had she just used her normal voice.

That was 25 minutes of my life last night.

So. Earlier in the day, I went to the beach for lunch.

Every once in a while, I find something really good about Los Angeles. I think that driving fifteen minutes from where I work to walk along the ocean qualifies. For everything that I hate about this two story, car choked town, you can't really beat spending your lunch hour on a beach under the mountains with your toes in the sand while listening to waves.

It was just plain nice.

Have a good weekend, you bastards.

Last Time On FadeIn - Next Week's Show

i am one bad updater:

enter email to find out when i update. powered by notifylist.com