n o w p l a y i n g - s c r i p t b i n - f a n c l u b - s t u d i o

make love to the camera



June 20, 2003 - 11:31 am

Tijuana!

Early yesterday morning, I stumbled out into the living room, bleary-eyed and shirtless. It was much like my appearance on 'Cops.' My roommate took a look at me and said "You definitely seem to be getting skinnier."

"Yes, and yet I continue to eat like I do," I said, eyeing the pan of Rice Krispies treats sitting on the counter and considering breakfast.

"I hate you," he replied.

Actually, he may have said "That is very frustrating to me," but I knew what he meant.

So. Heya.

Yeah, so this has been a weak week, as far as updating the ol' FadeIn goes. Due to some extenuating and unexpected circumstances, I was drained of any available FadeJuice I may have used to come here and type out the funny. In fact, I believe it was Wednesday that I experienced the greatest strain on my resources, but I was luckily able to refuel that very evening with some food that was shipped in from Chicago.

Food. Mailed. From Chicago.

There is no such thing as good pizza in Los Angeles. At least, not once you've had pizza from Chicago. And I'm not just talking Chicago style deep dish, either. The general quality of the pizza in Chicago is superior world over, while the pizza here is on par with pizza you'd find in the UK or Ireland, which is to say: not great.

When Papa John's is your best bet for pizza in town, something is wrong.

So, JonnyBoy works with a fellow former Chicagoan named Brandon, who seems to be one of the hardest drinking Jews I've ever met. This is evidenced by Brandon's numerous attempts to make out with Jonny, which used to be something the two would do in the context of drunkeness and large groups and for comedic effect. Brandon took it to the next level Wednesday night when no one was around and entreated my roommate with a sweet, romantic "C'mon, just a little kiss."

I could go on, but it's really Jonny's story to tell.

Good man that Brandon is, he is not only fond of drunken latent tendencies, but also food from Chicago. There are restaurants back home that will freeze dry and ship frozen pizzas and Italian beef anywhere in the US. Wednesday night, I was accompanied by Heather (who has become quite good at the accompanying), Jonny, and our 'Nilla chewing pal Natalie to a feast from back east.

There are just no words. If it weren't so expensive, I'd have Lou Malnati's and Portillo's ship me food on a regular basis. When I taste the sweet success, there will be a walk-in freezer in my dwelling dedicated to delivered delectables.

Which, hopefully, will be sooner rather than later, as I had to cancel my trip to Chicago.

I was supposed to leave tonight, actually, around midnight, to go and visit home for a week. I was going to see the mom, visit the Taste Of Chicago, eat at all of my favorite restaurants, take in a Cubs game, ride me some public transport, reconnect with Sally and all of my other friends. I was really looking forward to it, and then, last week, I learned of Harold team auditions at the Improvolympic, and I had to make a choice.

It was either skip the trip and take a flight credit, or go to Chicago and wait til the next round of auditions...two months from now.

So, I had to choose, and I chose to take a stab at advancing my career over creamy chicken shortcake from Stanley's, over enchiladas tres colores at Fiesta Mexicana, and even over polish sausage at Budacki's.

I surprise even myself.

Oh, and I feel the need here to apologize to fellow Chicagoan's. You see, because I had the bulk of my trip planned for next week, you guys have an extremely hot and humid weather forecast. God forbid I try to go home for a summer trip and walk around the Taste in temperatures less than 95 degrees. So, your shitty weather over the next seven days is my fault, as I cancelled too late for them to change that.

I'll next be home in the fall, or maybe later in the year, so plan ahead for freezing rain and blizzards.

I think I made the right choice. My team won it's fifth show in a row last night, against a team that had previously won nine in a row, so that felt pretty keen. Jonny taped it, so maybe there will be some upcoming stills, or embedded video, perhaps, if I can figure out the wacky voodoo html to make that work.

Have a good weekend, you bastards.

Last Time On FadeIn - Next Week's Show

i am one bad updater:

enter email to find out when i update. powered by notifylist.com