n o w p l a y i n g - s c r i p t b i n - f a n c l u b - s t u d i o

make love to the camera



May 09, 2003 - 12:13 pm

Something Of A Something

There have been many personal inquiries, and I can assure you: My armpit is fine.

Update: On subsequent listens, I have decided that 'Pinkerton' is not an accurate representative of my feelings. Whatever girl Rivers was warbling about, he liked her way too much to actually speak for me. Jen was right: It's a great, underrated sing-a-long album, but "No, there is no other one"?

Uh, no. Not quite.

I'll still stand by El Scorcho, though.

So, if the next four nights go as planned, I'll have spent five nights in a row up at the Improvolympic. I don't mind this a bit. One might as well put their energy where their heart is.

Television and film writing? What's that again?

I suppose the big news worth mentioning is that I have something of a date tonight.

Here's how it went down: It's another girl from the Salon personals. She and I emailed on a semi-regular basis way back in the day. Pre-Christmas, probably. Then both she and I each met people and dated them for a while, and communications ceased. Turns out that she broke up her with her guy roughly around the same time the girl I met and I stopped seeing each other.

So, a few weeks ago, she emails me to see how I'm doing. She probably saw that I had updated my profile, to put it back on the top of the list. I only did it that once, and then realized my heart just wasn't in it and I didn't want to spend any more money to buy credits and send cute little notes to girls to find out if we liked the same kind of ice cream or whatever.

We exchange emails. This continues lackadaisically for a while until this week, when it became apparent that this was going to have to be brought to some kind of head or languish in email forever. She took the initiative, did the asking, and now I'll find myself on some sort of adventure this evening.

And, of course, it's going to go fantastically because I can't work up the wherewithal to care one way or another about the outcome. Sure, she's cool, smart, funny, has a cute picture and all that, but dating someone right now ranks about a 2 or 3 out of 10 or so on my Concern-O-Meter.

Theory: Maybe this is how the chick I dated felt when she met me. Then she felt herself getting way too into it, and had to pull back. That, I can understand.

In any event, maybe this new girl will turn out to be a snake handler or Dave Matthews fan or some other variant of freak and we will all be amused by an anecdote or two. We'll chalk it up to investigative journalism.

I'm doing this for you, people.

Last Time On FadeIn - Next Week's Show

i am one bad updater:

enter email to find out when i update. powered by notifylist.com