n o w p l a y i n g - s c r i p t b i n - f a n c l u b - s t u d i o

make love to the camera



August 15, 2003 - 7:51 am

Smell You Later

My friend Natalie is one of those people who doesn't believe in astrology, and then uses it to explain everything that's going on in the world.

Yesterday, she told me that right now, Mars is as close to Earth as it gets. Apparently, this has the effect of causing a bit of chaos, and also brings people from your past back to the fore. Maybe she's right.

This week in Diaryland, we've got two reappearing ex-boyfriends causing a ruckus in the lives of two girls I know. An improv friend of mine re-entered her dysfunctional relationship. Yesterday, I was IM'ed by two people with whom I haven't spoken in ages. Then, a girl I used to date, who seemingly wanted no contact with me ever again and even went so far as to block me online went and unblocked me.

Add to that Sally, who is in Reno this weekend and is pushing quite hard for me to make the eight hour drive up there to say "hi," and we may have more comebacks then whatever band it is that is currently in vogue to make comeback jokes about.

OK, so I obviously need a bit more coffee.

Today is my last official day at the wacky dentist's office. I may stay on, though, for at least a little while. I get wednesdays off, and t's hard to argue with full time pay for a four day week. He also doesn't seem to mind me being fifteen minutes late to work, allowing me to bring you important FadeIn entries. And finally, any job that allows me to pass the time by doing dramatic readings of poems from Highlights magazine to my coworkers is alright by me.

Some of my favorites:

"Pretty Face" by Jessica Edmond, 6.

Pretty Face

This is a pretty face.

I like pretty faces!

So zen.

And then there's the simple, yet profound impact of this piece:

"Roses" by James Michael, 9.

Roses

Roses...

Such Beautiful Roses.

Powerful! Goddamn, that kid is haunted! And all of those capitalized letters? I can only imagine the author's intent.

There's a very interesting piece titled 'Foxes' by yet another young poet. I may have to bring you that work in an audio entry, as the human voice catapults it's meaning to an entirely new level.

All right, I gots to split. Good weekend, bastards, etc. You know.

Last Time On FadeIn - Next Week's Show

i am one bad updater:

enter email to find out when i update. powered by notifylist.com