n o w p l a y i n g - s c r i p t b i n - f a n c l u b - s t u d i o

make love to the camera



September 17, 2003 - 1:09 pm

He Got Wounded In Korea, But It Was OK Because They Had Really Funny Doctors

Last night, I was hungry.

My friends know that's that's not unusual at all, as I'm pretty much always hungry. But last night was special, as I knew I didn't have any edibles at home besides a box of granola cereal. I was in the mood for one of those "hot meals" everyone is talking about these days.

So, it's late at night, after midnight, and I drop by my local Ralph's grocery store on the way home to pick up something I can microwave. Having made the classic mistake of shopping while hungry, I decided that I'd want a turkey sandwich the next day, and set about collecting the elements of said sandwich.

I grab the bread, the lettuce, the tomato. I head over to the meats and cheeses and look over my options. I'm on a budget, and there are many lunchmeats to choose from. I stand there, calculating in my head the best values, taking into account the amount of turkey versus price, etc.

As I'm standing there, I realized I had been joined in my meat quest by another couple of hungry fellows, other shoppers. I didn't think much of it, at first. And then I had one of those moments of realization. I looked around me.

Here I was in the grocery store at 1230 am. Near me were two other groups of guys doing the same thing. Four single men men, after midnight, staring at cold meats and silently, seriously contemplating their sandwiches.

Rock and Roll.

I just learned that trying to have a cell phone to cell phone conversation with someone while you're on the west coast and they're riding the noisy el in Chicago can drive you bug shagging nuts, unless you're the type of person who likes shouting "What?!?!" every two seconds.

Sally is auditioning for Boom Chicago, though, and luck needed to be wished.

It sounds like a horrifying audition. The first round is a ten minute conversation with you. Based on that, they decide whether they want you to come back the next day.

So, think good thoughts for Sally.

It looks like Honorable Vaginal Discharge may survive. A name change is being insisted upon by many, though I can't imagine why. I thought it was hideously wonderful.

The new name? I'm thinking along the lines of "Hercules Rockefeller."

I'm open to suggestions.

Last night, Tina Fey put in a surprise (to me, at least) performance at the IO. She was amazing. I remember seeing her before her show, but not recognizing her, and thinking to myself "Hey, cute brunette!" I try to stay well attuned to the activities of nearby cute brunettes.

Then she got on stage. And then she whipped out the funny. And looked amazingly cute and tiny while doing it, much cuter than she looks on TV, I think. She had to play a stripper at one point, and treated us all to some straight up rump shakin'.

You won't see that during Weekend Update.

I just promised away my Friday and Saturday nights through October 18th to a local theater company to do their lights. I'm mostly doing it to meet some actors, shmooze it up a bit, see what I can see. It pays, but not much...it'll be gas and cigarette money, basically, but I'm hoping some good comes out of it.

So. That's the news. Pretty straightforward today. We've got the last Excuses show of the month tonight. Not quite sure what our schedule looks like next month yet, but I have a feeling that I might mention any shows we have.

Right now, I have a huge pile of laundry, a Starbucks application, and Entertainment Weekly's Fall TV preview issue waiting for me.

From the looks of the preview, I won't be watching much TV this fall.

Last Time On FadeIn - Next Week's Show

i am one bad updater:

enter email to find out when i update. powered by notifylist.com