n o w p l a y i n g - s c r i p t b i n - f a n c l u b - s t u d i o

make love to the camera



April 30, 2002 - 9:49 am

Show And Tell

Standby for Show and Tell.

But first, I'm afraid I really must disagree with the notion that the song 'Puff the Magic Dragon' is about The Pot. I think that this theory arose as the result of overthinking on the part of those who like The Pot just a bit too much. When you reach a certain point with The Pot, you will find references to it anywhere you'd like to find references to it, from Sesame Street to your grandparents wedding pictures, or whatever.

Now, I think I've stated before that I no longer enjoy The Pot. You go ahead and indulge, though...whatever your trip is, baby. I'm just put off by the people who smoke so much of The Pot that it becomes their lifestyle, their nationality. You know what I'm talking about. Some people, they become Stonericans.

One of my brothers moved to Stonerica. He hasn't been back in years. He often wears sweatpants and lives in my mom's basement.

Now that's an advertisement for a drug free America.

Anyway, back to the song. This came up in conversation recently, hence the discussion. I believe that 'Puff the Magic Dragon' is about the death of imagination in people as they grow older, rather than drugs.

Consider: The first two verses are about Little Jackie Paper coming to visit puff, and all of the wonderful times they have together. Everything changes, however, in the third verse:

"A dragon lives forever, but no so little boys

painted wings and giants rings make way for other toys

One grey night it happened, Jackie Paper came no more

and Puff that mighty dragon he ceased his fearless roar."

The fourth verse talks about how Puff literally falls to pieces as he slinks back into his cave.

This is just my interpetation. It may well be documented somewhere, and I haven't looked yet, that the song is all about the weed. Feel free to refute, refute, refute.

Anyway.

Guess what it's time for?

SHOW AND TELL

PICTURE DAY!!!

Right.

My comments will be underneath each picture.

Man, I wish my scanner were better quality than it is. That's yours truly, rocking out during my last singing class.

Obviously, I turned into some kind of strange half-man, half-demon as this picture was taken.

"AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHH!" Clearly, I enjoyed myself.

A flourish as I finish. And, nope, that guy on the right isn't "developmentally disabled." That's just the way he claps, apparently.

And now, some stuff from where I work. That's me and my mum.

That's my aunt June, consumer of microwaves. She's standing next to one of the many murals the kids at the high school where I work have painted. I must admit, the kids are nothing if not talented.

The reality of the modern American high school. You enter, you pass through a metal detector. I always set it off with my Altoids, and the guard waves me by.

Detail from another mural. I like this one because the girl looks like Britney Spears. I always wonder whether it was intentional.

My favorite mural. Tough to see, because of the flash, but it depicts a toddler using his magical hand powers to stop a speeding bullet. The dove is there, of course, to 'increase the peace.'

Ah, the last picture. A classic. That's the security guard I mentioned who likes to go around smacking the kids in the head. He can fall asleep anywhere, at any time, and he snores really loudly.

And so ends FadeIn's first official Diaryland Show and Tell Day.

Last Time On FadeIn - Next Week's Show

i am one bad updater:

enter email to find out when i update. powered by notifylist.com