n o w p l a y i n g - s c r i p t b i n - f a n c l u b - s t u d i o

make love to the camera



January 24, 2002 - 9:26 am

Cyrogenically Frozen Chinese

Well, I went with the Kirk Cameron gig.

Yes, I am working part time at my mom's high school. I can't really say that it's very Kirk Cameron, because I never went there, terrorized any of the teachers, or had a friend with the improbable sitcom-ish name of 'Boner.' So, this isn't an exact duplication of post golden era 'Growing Pains.' One might say it should be called "Growin' Pains, Yo!" as it is an urban school, and, come to think of it, it does closely mimic my high school experience in the sense that big goofy honkies like me are the minority.

I'm doing clerical stuff there right now, and they know that I'm looking for another job the whole time. I promised myself that I would look harder for this mythical other job after they told me that if they ran out of paper work for me to do, they would "put me on security."

Fuck that! I definitely do not want to spend my days yelling at high school kids to get out of the hallway and stop smoking in the bathroom. If ever that should occur, dress me up in some Dockers and bury me, because I will consider my life over anyway.

That's just an expression. No one should be buried in Dockers.

I really have no time for this, but I prefer writing to getting ready, so here I go: Speaking of expressions, I noticed that, at the end of my last entry, I said 'in any case' twice, in two consecutive sentences. I was going to edit it out (I only discovered it days later), but then I decided to leave it as a reminder that we say things in English all the time without even really thinking about them. We have all these phrases that have meanings, but we don't really think about the individual meanings of the words that make up the phrases as we say them. Dig? Like, if you say "as a matter of fact," as you say it, are you thinking all that much about the meaning of the word 'matter' and the word 'fact' or are you just letting that entire phrase convey what you mean? I know I do it myself all the time, out of habit.

I meant to go on and explain this better, but now it really is time to go, and I think you understand what I'm saying anyway. You smart and pretty people, you. Yes, you!

OK, I'm done. I'm also late. Tomorrow, if I write, I share a good anecdote about being cyrogenically frozen, why the Chinese are not known for their desserts, and a secret that I've been keeping for a little while.

The secret does not pertain to cyrogenically frozen Chinese people. Though that would be cool.

Last Time On FadeIn - Next Week's Show

i am one bad updater:

enter email to find out when i update. powered by notifylist.com