n o w p l a y i n g - s c r i p t b i n - f a n c l u b - s t u d i o

make love to the camera



May 24, 2001 - 10:00 am

Waiting For Scenic

It's 10 am on a Thursday morning in Chicago, in May, 2001. I've had coffee, read the paper, opened the shades. 'Kill Uncle' is playing for the sole reason that it happened to be laying face down on the floor when I was looking for something to play. If I listen closely enough, I can almost feel as if I'm hearing the pieces slide into place all over the world.

I'm waiting for scenic. A day is coming soon when I'm going to look out a window and like what I see. I've been measuring my life that way ever since I was four years old.

It's amazing, at times. I know that right now, a house that I'll live in one day is waiting for me to move in. Someone, somewhere, is moving into a position from which they will be able to help me move into a position of my own. Somewhere, another student might be working on an idea that will only be realized, with my help, years down the line. I can imagine, right now, a man and a woman, lovers at breakfast, who will someday give birth to the son whose later actions will happen to make us all rich, in so many more ways than money can.

I myself am rolling my eyes as I read this, but right now I truly do feel as if my mind is reaching out to all the chess boards of the world and watching the pieces move. A butterfly is flapping its wings in Malaysia, not even knowing that the result will be a hurricane in California.

I can be funny. I can be a smartass. And I can give myself the license to let my mind be occasionally and blown by the massive possibility of possibilities.

I'm both actively participating in and waiting for convergence. At this very moment, 10 am on a Thursday morning in Chicago, in May, 2001, I almost think I can feel humanity shifting like tectonic plates towards its eventual collective fate.

It feels good, in case you're curious.

Last Time On FadeIn - Next Week's Show

i am one bad updater:

enter email to find out when i update. powered by notifylist.com