n o w p l a y i n g - s c r i p t b i n - f a n c l u b - s t u d i o

make love to the camera



January 17, 2003 - 11:02 am

Operation: Pinky Finger

So, in grand Bill fashion, I've had no problem waking up super early, even though I've had nothing in particular to wake up early for. This morning, it was 7:45 am. The working theory is that my body is beginning to demand caffeine earlier and earlier, and soon, I will have no choice but to eat coffee grounds straight from the can all day long.

Los Angeles can be pretty in the morning, though. Very early, it's clear enough so that from where I live, I can look to the north and the east and see the mountains in high relief against the blue, each individual ridge casting its own shadow in the morning sun.

It's only as the day goes on and the mountains disappear into the haze that you realize you're living in what amounts to a gigantic garage in which someone has left about four million cars running.

It's true what they say, though: The smog does make for lovely, lovely sunsets.

Does anyone else sense that D'land seems to be in some kind of low energy period? It seems that the updates aren't coming as often, the frequency of the emails are down. I'm thinking that it's the holidays.

Either that, or I am just now universally hated. Which is probably the case.

A sum up of recent events:

I was offered the job at Curb Your Enthusiasm. My own enthusiasm for the job was curbed when they wouldn't work with me on a scheduling conflict. All I wanted was three measely hours, once a week, in which to go off and go to a class that has become a huge bright spot for me. I was going to take the job, too, but I weighed my sanity against the opportunity to go pick up and deliver Larry David's sandwiches, and, well, my sanity won out.

Thank God for unemployment checks. And this makes me three for three on the Los Angeles Entertainment Job Interview chalkboard, which does feel pretty damn good. Something else will come along.

The Hamburger Hamlet Meeting wasn't nearly as laughable as I first thought. Apparently, according to those I've talked to in the know, these Hollywood types like to have unconventional meetings in unconventional places, and the HH is pretty high on the list of cool places to meet. The woman gave me the bible for the show I'd be writing for, went over the premise with me a bit, and said that if she liked what I wrote, she'd buy it. Normally, a statement like that might raise a flag for me, but at no point did my Shady-o-Meter go off. She seems trustworthy.

I went on another date. Good stuff. She knows of FadeIn, so no details just yet.

Oh. It has recently come to my attention that I have been most remiss about giving out my "propahs." Several people dear to my heart have been shortchanged by my lack of linking or acknowledgement for various goodhearted activities. I now seek to rectify these situations, from most recent to least.

This lovely girl not only sent me a scarf, but she knitted it herself. The material is super soft, and it looks really good. The girl has some knitting ski-zills.

It also smells nice.

On a non-D'land note, this show is currently rocking my world. There's nothing quite like watching two people in rabbit costumes make sweet, sweet love in a movie theater.

Like I said before, I met some people when I went home to Chicago. There was Chris, a wonderful man who gives his account of our meeting here. He also made me a fantastic mix cd, but made the mistake of giving it to me after lunch, thus not earning a free meal.

I made it up to him with a REDD HOTT make out session.

Jen, on the other hand, wisely gave me a cute little Christmas present right up front, and gained a free pizza lunch. She gave me two apple pie candles to feed my pastry fetish, and a little leather bound diary, all of which have been used or are currently being used. And the candles have come in handy: No pies consumed yet.

Also, plans were hatched, intentions were there, to get in contact with and meet her and her. Unfortunately, neither plan came to fruition. Next Christmas.

Finally, the best of all. Do you remember my old high school friend Becky? She, as you might recall, had a problem with worms.

That's all behind her now.

But I remember, it was one day last month, I was reading someone's entry, I don't remember who, but the entry mentioned Frank Sinatra christmas songs. This was before I went home to Chicago, so I was feeling all Wistful Bill for Christmas and I realized that I hadn't got my Christmas song fix.

"How nice it would be," I thought to myself. "How nice it would be to have some Frank Sinatra Christmas music."

Later that very day, I kid you not, what should arrive for me in the mail but a Frank Sinatra Christmas CD made just for me from Ol' Becks.

True story.

And just so you know: Yes. Jonny did survive last night's life threatening, dangerous pinky finger operation and is expected to make a full recovery.

Breathe easy.

Last Time On FadeIn - Next Week's Show

i am one bad updater:

enter email to find out when i update. powered by notifylist.com