n o w p l a y i n g - s c r i p t b i n - f a n c l u b - s t u d i o

make love to the camera



March 23, 2002 - 11:04 am

An Improv Show and Some Netiquette

Ooh, the ultra rare Saturday morning update. Put this one up on eBay because it doesn't come along every day, I tells you.

See how I did NOT do the html-linkage to eBay? That's because everyone knows about it and how to find it, and therefore no linking is necessary. That is called 'Netiquette.' Read on for more information.

I got a great night's sleep last night. Still, I was so sleepy when I woke up this morning that when I went to rub out my eye shmutz, my hand went for my ear. Coffee was immediately administered, to great effect.

So, last night, I went to my place of improvisation education (that was proper linking, you see) to catch their house team, Baby Wants Candy. I was supposedly going to be meeting my bastard classmates, who all swore up and down last saturday that they were going to do nothing but see shows this week, especially the friday night show. I should have expected this to happen, but only one of them showed up, and I don't feel too especially close to her.

So, she had arrived before me, and was all settled in nice and snug with her work friends, so I decied to sit all by my lonesome. This was fine, as I was kept company by the latest issue of The Onion (The Onion, of course, is always linked when mentioned). I had tried to whip up some friends to accompany me earlier that day, but the relatively early showtime of 8pm did not jive with their boring plans of doing nothing but going to get a drink.

Some people, I don't get.

So, Midge (linking diarists is standard practice, but is certainly optional) had earlier informed me that her team was going to be opening up for Baby Wants Candy, which only sweetened the deal. Both her team and BWC were good, and Midge got in an especially funny line.

Between the shows, the two teams get together and do this thing where they interview a person from the audience, and then do a series of scenes based on their life. The guy they got last night was this 22 year old who was in town from Joliet visiting his girlfriend for their two year anniversary. They said they had a lovely time that day drinking Coors light, hanging out in their hotel room, smoking cigarettes and watching the Simpsons.

Anyway, they got a bit of personal information from the guy, who said he had been in a community college for four years, and was in a band until recently. The band was called 'Closeminded' (tried to find a link for these dinky downstate rockers, but, sadly, could not).

So, after they interview the guy, the cast gets to ask questions. I found it nicely hilarious when Midge asked "So, the community college was getting in the way of the band?" which deftly embarassed the guy more so than he already was. Good stuff.

Anyway, Baby Wants Candy finishes their set. If you're in Chicago, I heartily recommend going to see them. They improvise an hour long musical based on the suggestion of a title from the audience. Last night, the suggestion was 'Fat Pat Joins the Family.'

Afterwards, I go to use the bathroom before I head home. Coming out of the bathroom, I encounter Midge in the extremely narrow hallway going back to the theater. She comes right up to me, and starts saying something about how she has to go get notes about her team's show and that they're going to be bad. Now, I thought she was trying to squeeze past me and explain why she couldn't talk to me, when in reality she was probably just talking to me. So, I say "Hey, OK, I'll talk to you later." I believe she continued attempting to explain herself, and I, not wanting to keep her, said "Hey, no...it's cool. I'll just talk to you later." The poor girl might have thought I was trying to communicate to her 'Man, your show sucked so bad that I can not even talk to you.' I was not.

My social skills are impeccable, yes.

I then managed to catch an el' train, get home in about ten minutes, and promptly collapsed in my bed a short time later. I believe I enjoyed about ten hours of sleep last night.

I now have about two hours until my own improv experiences. I plan on filling the time with some scrambled eggs (it's always in vogue to link to something wacky and unexpected) and tater tots. Just so you know.

Last Time On FadeIn - Next Week's Show

i am one bad updater:

enter email to find out when i update. powered by notifylist.com