n o w p l a y i n g - s c r i p t b i n - f a n c l u b - s t u d i o

make love to the camera



August 20, 2002 - 10:33 pm

Some Funny, Some Serious

Hey! I was just rooting around in here and I found a FadeIn!

I knew I put that somewhere.

You should know something about me: I work for The Mouse.

Yes, According To Jim is a Disney show. That explains the low wages, lack of health insurance, and their insane itemizing of every dollar spent on production.

It's a cheap world after all.

If I don't come back from a coffee run with a detailed line by line receipt of every item purchased, including the name of the impoverished Ecuadorean boy who harvested the beans, I get fired.

That's Disney for you.

So, yes. Things are good at According To Jim. My hours are no longer the Draconian torture that was Buffy, and I still get fed for free.

What more could I ask?

Well, I could have asked for a certain Very Important Cast Member to not go into a swearing, screaming rage right in front of me when he found out I was hired for the position he wanted to slip his nephew into, but other than that, it's been good.

He apologized later for making me for uncomfortable (he didn't) and I told him that if he promoted me to a writer the kid could have my job (he wouldn't).

That deserved a laugh, I thought, but he was apparently not in a laughing mood.

Ah, well. I still have my job. For now.

Speaking of screaming rages, I really should tell you guys about the time Michelle Trachtenberg (Buffy's little sister on...well, Buffy, for those whow don't know) went all diva on me when I dared address her as if I were addressing a fellow human being to tell her that there was a phone call on the line for her, but I haven't cleared that one with legal yet.

Maybe if I change the names.

It was my first big fake Hollywood moment, though, so it was cool.

On another note, it would be nice if I were enjoying Los Angeles more.

Chicago has something this city doesn't, and I'm not sure what to name it. Something about walking through downtown Chicago, with densely compact, tall buildings everywhere. Something about Christmas shopping in bitter cold while snow falls, and being able to smell the warm smells of coffe shops and popcorn stands. Something about riding home on the el', coming out of the loop and approaching the Merchandise Mart stop, and watching the sun set over west downtown.

It's all so miss-able.

LA does have it's good points, though, don't get me wrong. On foggy mornings, you can drive north on the 405 and watch unbelievably gargantuan mountains appear one by one out of the mist. You can run your hand over the rough ridges of a palm tree and wonder exactly what bizarre evolutionary twist resulted in these positively Martian-like plants. You can go down to the ocean, smell the air, stick your foot in the water and think about how all those droplets of water are connected to other droplets that have touched other droplets that have lapped up on the shores of India, Australia, or Japan.

I was going to end this entry with 'I need to get laid' just to mine some humor from the juxtaposition of that crude statement and all that poeticy poeticness, but I decided that that cheapens us all, really, and you deserve better.

Again, I think only of you.

Last Time On FadeIn - Next Week's Show

i am one bad updater:

enter email to find out when i update. powered by notifylist.com