n o w p l a y i n g - s c r i p t b i n - f a n c l u b - s t u d i o

make love to the camera



April 04, 2002 - 9:08 am

He Was Just French

Man, I just saw a banner ad that uses a line from 'Catcher in the Rye.'

This is a quote from another ad I just saw: "crimson darkness wash your tired eyes." Yes, that's the grammar, intact.

I wonder if all these angsty teenage girl banner ad diaries have any idea that we are the cool kids around here.

Some weeks, there's stuff to write. Other weeks, not so much.

However, through the wonders of the details function of my SiteMeter, I have learned of a Mystery Person.

This Mystery Person came to this lil' ol' webpage by searching for "Semester in LA" on Google. They then proceeded to read 85 pages, spending over three hours here (212 minutes and 39 seconds, to be exact).

Therefore, one thing we can surmise of the Mystery Person is that they have extremely good taste, whoever they are.

Then again, both 'Titanic' and 'In The Bedroom' were about that long, so perhaps that isn't the best barometer.

My info also tells me that the MP is out in the same time zone as California. Someone I know from school who is out there doing the program, perhaps?

O, Mystery Person: Show thyself. Fess up. Not knowing who you are isn't going to drive me nuts, but I freely admit that I'm curious.

So. Anyway.

I haven't updated in two days, but it feels like longer. I took some time off from my regularly scheduled broadcasting under the pretense of getting some errands done that I had been meaning to do. Naturally, I did the bare minimum.

I should have at least done laundry. In my life, there are three levels of Sock Status. I use my Sock Status System to gauge whether or not I should actually wash my clothes. There are Everyday Socks, which I hope should be fairly self-explanatory. Then, there are Reserve Socks, which may have a hole or two, mostly in the heel, but are still wearable. After the Reserve Socks are depleted, we move to Sock Status Red, which are the Emergency Socks. Those socks are kept for days when I know I won't be going anywhere, and I simply need some kind of barrier betwixt my feet and my shoes. Also, in order to get to them, two sets of keys must be turned simultaneously in locks on opposite sides of the room.

I'm down to my last pair of Reserve Socks. The situation is desperate.

So, I guess I know what I'm doing tonight.

Speaking of tonight, Sally is going out to dinner with a Jewish lawyer. This makes her Jewish lawyer father very happy. In fact, he advised her to find a way to "lock him in a room and keep him forever."

Now, I have been assured that her father has always liked me, despite the fact that I'm not into sports and that I've been quite vocal about the middling quality of the pizza in Cleveland. However, he never suggested locking me in a room. Sally told me that had I already been successful and established in my career, he would have suggested capturing me as well.

Of course, this is a man who once drunkenly smacked me with a rolled up newspaper after I made a smart ass crack about Cleveland.

It was an act of love, not violence, I'm told.

What can I say? The Jewish suburbs of Cleveland: Great bagels and deli, not so great pizza.

The post script to Sally's date tonight is that this guy is moving in two months too. Poor gal.

Good lord. I have less than two months left in Chicago. I'm very much feeling the pressure to make my mark here somehow.

The first guy who climbed up the Sears Tower was dressed as Spiderman. The second guy was just French.

Third time's the charm.

Last Time On FadeIn - Next Week's Show

i am one bad updater:

enter email to find out when i update. powered by notifylist.com