n o w p l a y i n g - s c r i p t b i n - f a n c l u b - s t u d i o

make love to the camera



October 01, 2002 - 2:10 pm

Words For You To Read

Something simply must be done about the current state of Los Angeles radio.

Either that, or I need to finally invest some time and money in a decent car stereo.

I do enjoy my commutes to and fro, regardless of the fact that I was happier taking the train to work or school in Chicago, which allowed me to read the paper or whatever I needed to read for class. Forty minutes was ample time for either endeavor.

Here, though, I have to actually keep my eyes on the road, because nothing makes 10 million people who have to drive to work every day more unhappy than someone carelessly spreading their car and body parts across three lanes of traffic.

I am thoughtful.

So, I mostly stick with NPR, not because I am that cool, but because my other choices are an oldies station, or a classical station. I like to sing along with whatever I�m listening to, and you can always count on the oldies station for a bit of familiar Motown, but it gets so repetitive. Besides, whenever they play Vivaldi�s Four Seasons on that classical station, it�s always the instrumental radio re-mix without the raunchy, sexed-up lyrics, and that�s just no fun.

The point is: If you�re looking for me, I�m the guy driving the white car and singing along to �California Girls� over and over again while weeping.

Oh! Jesus! I was just startled by the fact that I had something to talk about.

A certain Alice signed my guestbook saying that she was wary of Tessa as a new addition to the cast of FadeIn. She didn�t want to see any replacement characters tossed in there just to keep the ratings up among young males. Well, she does not have to worry.

It appears that Tessa will be a one episode guest star, and that�s about it. Not only is neither of us all that excited about doing any actual hanging out, but we also had this conversation which sealed the deal:

TESSA: I saw �Sweet Home Alabama� this weekend.

BILL: Good God, why?

TESSA: It was a cute romantic comedy! I liked it.

BILL: I saw Secretary.

TESSA: That looks weird.

BILL: Yeah, but that�s not a good reason not to see it. It�s good weird.

TESSA: Well, I�m an idiot.

OK, so she didn�t say that last part, per se, but that�s where the conversation was headed.

It�s one thing to have a problem with the subject matter of Secretary, but to think it�s too �weird� to even see is kind of a problem. Come to think of it, rushing out to see Sweet Home Alabama on opening weekend sounds like the weirdest thing I have heard in a long time.

Tessa, thanks for playing. Your freckles were cute, but you are now allowed to return to Sweet Home Indiana and raise many Catholic children.

There is nothing happening in this office today at all. It�s nice, but I�d so much rather be at home.

I like the grey, drizzly Los Angeles so much more than the sunny hot Los Angeles.

Last Time On FadeIn - Next Week's Show

i am one bad updater:

enter email to find out when i update. powered by notifylist.com