n o w p l a y i n g - s c r i p t b i n - f a n c l u b - s t u d i o

make love to the camera



August 30, 2001 - 8:33 am

Bed & Breakfast

I updated late last night. Go back one and check it.

I'm thinking of investigating pomade. Further updates as developments warrant. Any users out there got tips?

If I've learned nothing else in my 26 years, it's that there are certain actions you can perform that can force events to happen in this world. For example: Waiting for the bus? Light a cigarette. Instant bus arrival (this used to apply to the el trains as well, but now that smoking has been banned on the platforms, people are apt to stone you Shirley Jackson Lottery style, so it's a trick best avoided). In a restaurant and wondering where your food could be? Go to the bathroom, and when you get back, your enchilada cheese will be congealing. Where's that elevator? Head for the stairs. Curse fate when you hear the ding as the stairway door closes behind you.

Anyway, the point to all this is that I had pledged to myself at the beginning of the month that I would write an entry here every day. Go look at my older entries to see that, until the 11th, the universe was on my side.

The funniest thing that has happened at work so far: When my manager was informed of the untimely death of Aliyah (yeah, like I'm going to look up the correct spelling), her response went thusly: "So? It don't affect my money!"

It's all class at this doctor's office, baby.

Oh, and remember the fellow male employee of mine who was described as "he ain't no man, he a baby"? Well, I have met the baby. He comes into work about half an hour late every shift. He then immediately begins to inquire as to when he can go to lunch. When things are slow, he sits next to me and recites rap lyrics softly to himself. It's all very amusing. I can't dis this homey of mine too much, however, for he saved my ass the other day by pressing some arcane combination of keys on my computer when there was a problem.

Mad props, my friend. Mad props, indeed.

I have started to run again. I'm not back to where I was when I was running six days a week. I'm getting there, though. I figure if I can get through lap 4 without lighting a smoke, I'll be in the home stretch, as it were.

That is very much a joke. Although I must admit to enjoying what I like to call my post-run smoke when I'm home and showered and all is said and done. The new plan is to quit in January when I graduate. Six classes this final semester and a part time job? Yeah, I'll quit in January.

I've also been (and I'm almost ashamed to admit this because it is just so very disgustingly jock-ish.) lifting weights. It's not so much a health thing, or even because I feel I really need to do so, really. It's more along the lines of "Hey, what would I look like if I lifted some weights?"

Get off my back, you puny bookworms. I had to do something this month without the ability to write or get online.

Sally is going out of town this weekend til Monday. Sad Bill. I'm thinking of coming up with some kind of writing challenge for myself. Or, how about this? If one of you decides to be spontaneously crazy and visit Chicago from Saturday to Monday, I'll put you up and buy you dinner. Seriously. Otherwise, I might be forced to socialize with someone I know in real life.

You know how much I hate that.

Last Time On FadeIn - Next Week's Show

i am one bad updater:

enter email to find out when i update. powered by notifylist.com