n o w p l a y i n g - s c r i p t b i n - f a n c l u b - s t u d i o

make love to the camera



April 18, 2005 - 12:38 am

How To Follow Up An Entry Like That

And then there's always that point in the conversation, when we're sick of joking around about old times, or BLIND JUSTICE!, or names for cereals made from cigarette filters (butt-o-bits, of course) or whatever it is that night that's taking up the space between the drinking and smoking. There's a lull and a sense of expectation like the kind that comes with a yellow light, and everything slows down and finally stops on "So, how are you doing, really?"

And I can't blame anyone for asking, because I know I'd do the same, and, honestly, I like that my friends are asking. I'm going to miss it when they're not asking, when what happened March 11th, 12:55pm becomes just as much a part of my past as someone's childhood braces or a fourth grade fight. No one's asking me now if it still hurts where Anton Zaleski stabbed my wrist with that pencil.

And I think I always start with "I'm OK, I guess," and then launch off into whatever new thing I noticed that week. Maybe I found myself staring at a vase she had and realized, freshly, she was gone. Or maybe I'd tell them about a dream of her I had, or just how really fucked up it is to fucking catch yourself realizing that you don't have any fucking parents, and it makes you mad and sad. No matter what, I try to be honest with them and not be stoic, because they're friends, and they're really asking, and why not? Who else could I tell these things to? This is part of what makes them my friends.

I still pray, from time to time. I still believe in God, and an afterlife. My brief flirtation with atheism was never serious or credible. It's just not in my nature. So I found myself praying the other night. It was nearly a month after, and I wanted to say something to God. I didn't know what. Not to be too precious about it, but I got about as far as 'thank you,' and couldn't add anything else. I'm just thankful. For my life, for hers, for everything else. I still love life, despite it all. I can't help it.

That's how I'm doing. I'm OK, I guess.

Last Time On FadeIn - Next Week's Show

i am one bad updater:

enter email to find out when i update. powered by notifylist.com