n o w p l a y i n g - s c r i p t b i n - f a n c l u b - s t u d i o

make love to the camera



November 08, 2002 - 1:08 pm

All That Heaven Holds

Horse shit.

It took horse shit to bring me back to you.

OK, so it's been a few days since I last updated. Little gap there. Just a bit.

I wish that I could say that I was off on some sort of spiritual journey. Or maybe say that something spectacular happened, like I got cast in a feature film, or sold a screenplay, or won the lottery and decided to lay low while I figured out who to invite to the massive diaryland party.

God knows I wouldn't invite you.

Nope, none of that stuff happened. I just wasn't writing. And now I am.

I'm back, and I haven't changed, and I haven't learned anything, and this is oh so definitely not a Very Special Episode of FadeIn.

But I'm back.

So, yesterday was a pretty crapulent work day. We had an exterior night shoot to do. Naturally, I had to be outside for the shoot, and perhaps even more naturally, it chose to rain last night.

Of all the days in this rain starved city that it had to rain, it chose to rain on a night where my job involved standing outside for two hours.

What made the event even more special was my purpose for being there. It was a job that only I could do. When I write my next student loan check, I will do so with a fervor and pride that stems from the thankfulness I feel for the education that provided me the necessary preparation for last night's work.

I had to stand at the end of the street on which we were shooting and make sure cars didn't go by.

In the rain. In the cold. Standing next to the horse shit filled rolling animal pen that transported the horse to our set.

I found a semi-protected area under an anemic southern California tree from which I could keep an eye on the road in both directions. From where the actual shooting was going on, I'm sure that all one could see of me was the orange glowing tip of my occasional cigarette. But I was there, dammit. And I was working.

When a car would come by, I would suddenly appear in front of it, spotlit by their headlights, my hand raised in the universal 'Halt!' gesture. I'd keep them there until given the all clear, and then let them go on their way. I swear it would be dramatic if I weren't doing it for the larger purposes of a sitcom.

I did like to imagine that I was some World War II era German guard, though, keeping watch on the highway to smashed French villa. The rain, the smoke, the lights, the halting. All that was missing was the Jew killing.

Which is just as well, because my education actually had very little to do with that.

Last Time On FadeIn - Next Week's Show

i am one bad updater:

enter email to find out when i update. powered by notifylist.com