n o w p l a y i n g - s c r i p t b i n - f a n c l u b - s t u d i o

make love to the camera



July 16, 2001 - 1:44 pm

I Still Want To Go Home, Though

Well, I usually wait to write an entry until I think of something that has the slightest chance of amusing both myself and others. That is not the case today. I believe I will now write an entry that comes from the dark place inside every downtown office building called 'boredom.'

This temp job isn't so bad, really. And, considering how much I need the cash, it is definitely welcome. But. Does the damn phone need to ring every time I get into a nice state of slack? This whole concept of, how do you say, "working," has really got me down.

There were no water parks this weekend. We found out that the place was an hour and a half away (which by itself is bad enough) and very near a town called Rockford, Illinois. For those of you not hip to the Rockford scene, let me put it this way: You know how in some movies, or TV shows, the big scary event is that some other dimension is going to open up and cross over into our dimension and then demons and devils and large worms and other creatures are going to come through and kill us all? Well, Rockford is kind of like that, except the demons breaking into our dimension are white trash.

So, we went to see Legally Blond instead. Now, I'm the last person on Earth that I expected to hear say this, but, I liked it. I really did. I was expecting stupidity, but it turned out to be a smart movie. I laughed the whole way through, and never at any point did it get too incredibly lame. Structurally, it was nearly flawless, and I would call the costumes and props inspired.

Excuse me while I go kill myself for writing a glowingly positive review of Legally Blond.

OK, I'm back. It just really surprised me how good the movie was, that's all. Really surprised me. I'm decorating everything with pink on pink from now on.

Oh, let's wrap this up so I can go grab a Snapple: This company I'm working at has a long name that I can't seem to say without sounding like I'm slurring like a drunk. Even worse, I forget what the company is called occasionally. So, last time the phone rang, I picked it up and held it to my head and found myself unable to speak. I sat there, dumbfounded, trying to think of the name, while the people on the other end of the line no doubt heard the background noise of my office and wondered what was going on. After a few long seconds, I realized I remembered what the name of the company sounded like, even if I couldn't remember the name. So, in a mumbly way, I said "mee mee itcher ellis."

This apparently, was close enough, as the rest of the phone call preceded without incedent.

Other than that, no complaints. It's hard to find fault in an office with only three people, especially when those three people like to do non-officey things like put the Cubs game on the TV and not work.

Last Time On FadeIn - Next Week's Show

i am one bad updater:

enter email to find out when i update. powered by notifylist.com