n o w p l a y i n g - s c r i p t b i n - f a n c l u b - s t u d i o

make love to the camera



March 28, 2002 - 9:41 am

Clueless

Well, well, well.

Just when you think you have nothing to write about, a friend of yours from high school decides to be Lil' Ms. Smartass in your guestbook.

I'd link to her page, but she's already done so in the guestbook. Besides, she hasn't written anything there, but if you're into pictures of a girl holding up clothes she bought from eBay in front of her webcam, go take a look.

Anyway, she tries to bust me because of what I said about grunge styles the other day. She claims that such styles were not at all me in high school.

She's right.

She does, however, forget that there was this little thing called 'college' I went to where we did not have contact for a few years, and that college experience did partially take place in the early nineties. Now, I never claimed to be grunge in that Kurt Cobain flannel shirt, ripped jeans wearing, champagne bottle smashing way. I just wore crap that was old. It barely qualifies, but I think I at least satisfied requirements for one of the subcategories.

Not that I'm lobbying for Grunge Points, then or now. I'm making a point, here, people.

She was right about a few things, however. In high school, I was indeed into those thin gap hoodies, and I owned a handful of them, as did many of us early 90's kids. I'm willing to bet that the people out there around my age know exactly what I'm talking about.

Also, idiotically, I was an adherent of the Girbaud styles, those $70 a pair (yes) designer jeans that had the little tag on the crotch. We had a lot of wealthy kids who went to Lincoln Park HS, and if you wanted to be cool like them, you had to get some of those jeans. They were the perfect way to demonstrate that you made foolish purchases.

Those who bought Girbaud jeans were mortal enemies of those who bought Cavaricci pants. The Cavaricci pants had a tag, too, except that it went up and down as opposed to horizontally. The leg was very roomy, and the cuffs were tailored down to near impossibility. You can see their influence on the MC Hammer style all too clearly.

And I freely admit that, in high school, I was not familar with the concept of dressing well. I remember one spring day during my senior year, a few of us cut class and went out into the park to eat doughnuts from the local White Hen. That day, I was wearing a pair of my dad's way oversized plaid brown shorts (true), a mustard orange t-shirt (all too true), and, for some reason, a striped vest from a suit over that (bafflingly true).

I can't remember whether vests were in style, or whether I was off in my own universe.

Anyway, I'm out there with this girl Talyia, and probably a few other people, and I oh so clearly remember what Talyia said to me that day:

"You...have your own sense of style, don't you?"

At the time, I thought it was a compliment.

Last Time On FadeIn - Next Week's Show

i am one bad updater:

enter email to find out when i update. powered by notifylist.com