n o w p l a y i n g - s c r i p t b i n - f a n c l u b - s t u d i o

make love to the camera



May 22, 2001 - 9:14 am

Resisting Calling This 'Cleveland Rocks'

I am so completely burnt out by my educational scene. My school starts in late september and continues through early June. It is theorized that we start so late because we want to absorb the kids who were planning to go to other Chicago area schools but were not accepted. Our admission standards are such that to be accepted to Columbia College, you just have to express willingness to attend and have a big enough bank account.

Oh, the prestige. Yale we ain't.

It explains a lot of people in a lot of my classes. As an example, here is a sample line of dialogue some chick wrote for the class that produces that show that I've mentiond before. This line is to be spoken by a supposedly intelligent character who in this scene is speaking in class and subsequently impresses a professor. Grammar and spelling are uncorrected. This is exactly how this girl in my class wrote this character's dialogue:

ERYN: Since we are getting into the subject, I want to say that voting is a critical aspect of responsibility it can change a community and a world, sometimes drastically. Let's look at the civil rights, they have been the cause of change, death, and an imprisoned of so many people. And, all because our leaders make the decision of our lives.

Needless to say, we promptly killed her. That line is not going into any show that I'm working on. No fucking way.

Anyway, school is almost over. I might might might (read: remote chance, but possible) have a chance to pitch a show to some real TV execs, via my professor Charlie Siskel. It actually involves Diaryland, and it even has the approval of Andrew himself.

Anybody wanna be on TV?

So, getting back to my original point, I am almost done with this semester. I need some sort of vacation. To that end, I am looking for a change of scenery. This has Sally and I seriously considering a trip to her native Cleveland over the upcoming holiday weekend.

How desperate is that? Cleveland as vacation spot. As I told James: "I just want to look at a different fucking mall."

In any case, a trip to Cleveland means no responsibilities, a relaxing weekend of laying around smoking cigars with her grandpa, and Bialy's bagels, Davis' Deli, Chik-fill-a, Cheryl's cookies, and lots of other free food provided by her smiley Jewish dad. I may have mentioned here once my love for free food.

Speaking of which, it's official: Joan's back in July! Sadly, Grosse Pointe and Popular are not. Memo to WB: For that, and with Buffy now on UPN, I no longer have a reason to watch your "network."

One more TV-centric note to strike (hey people, I know I'm really wrapped up in TV. Just be glad that I like quality TV and am not constantly going on about Titus or 3rd Rock, OK?): The producers of the late, great, much lamented Freaks & Geeks (Why, God? Why did you take it away?) have two new shows in development. One will be on Fox, and it's called 'Undeclared.' It has one of the F cast members (Seth Rogan) and it looks like F's ideology transferred to a college backdrop set in modern times. The other series will be on ABC, and is called 'North Hollywood.' The premise is that two long time friends move to LA, and one becomes successful while the other struggles. It's a comedy.

I just wanted to bring a glimmer of hope to any F fans who lament the loss of well-written, character-driven comedy. Judd Apatow and Paul Feig (the writer-producers of F) are still trying to put respectable art on television.

Why do I care about that? Because, meanwhile, CBS has a fall comedy slated called 'Blind Men.' Premise: Competing window blinds salesmen.

Kill us. Kill us now.

Last Time On FadeIn - Next Week's Show

i am one bad updater:

enter email to find out when i update. powered by notifylist.com