n o w p l a y i n g - s c r i p t b i n - f a n c l u b - s t u d i o

make love to the camera



October 11, 2001 - 8:09 am

On Not Getting Laid In College And Other Mishaps

Holy bloody hell. I was just sitting here reading and doing that thing I do when I suddenly remembered that in my dream last night I had these humongous mutton chop sideburns. The thing with these chops, though, was that the very bottom of them extended out about three inches from my face, like long, black whiskers. It was a truly horrid look. I said to Sally "You know, I can cut these if you want me to." She was all like "Uh, yeah."

And with that: Good morning. Coffee, cigarettes, chocolate, and shortbread. I never wonder why I'm a happy guy.

You know why else my college sucks? It has never gotten me laid. My studies have not even resulted in a hot and heavy makeout session. Of course, this is entirely due to the fact that I have been in a relationship during the entire course of my attendance. But, still, who would argue that you have had a rich college experience if all this studying and attending has never once led to some extracurricular nookie? I should get special dispensation. Or, I could transfer back to DePaul, where the girls were in dorms, were Catholic, and were repressed. Now that was a school where study breaks were study breaks.

No idea what that means. I never studied when I was at DePaul.

Anyway. I mentioned the other day that I was walking around my neighborhood taking pictures of things that represent 'community.' This was for a project for my class. Well, I took the pictures, dropped them off to be developed, and then went to pick them up last night. I was informed that my camera was defective, and all of the pictures but four were ruined. I was very disappointed, because I walked through the Bill-a-hood, taking some nice snaps of stuff that would be good for the project, and stuff that I wanted you guys to see. Now I'm going to have to tell my prof that he gave me a defective disposable camera.

Luckily, he's a cool guy. However, I truly hate him as he is just one year older than me, has a MFA, and two published novels. Bastard.

Hmm...shower or one last thing? (Oh, before I forget, I love KateBlump for saying one of the nicest things said about me in recent memory. What a dame!)

OK, the last thing: Sally and I might be coming out to L.A. in June for this screenwriting 'semester in L.A.' program my school offers, even though I graduate in January and she graduated a few years ago. See, the program has you write a screenplay that you get to pitch to real execs at the end. There are tons of guest speakers. You get to learn to do 'coverage,' which is the art of reading a script and giving notes to the writer, or recommending to your boss whether or not to have a meeting with the writer. Lastly, and perhaps most grandly, they have the connections to set you up with virtually any internship you want. This one chick I know who went out there is now a writer's assistant on 'Passions' (hey, it's a start). Another girl wanted to work for Jerry Bruckheimer (don't ask me why). She started as his intern and is now his personal assistant, making $125,000 a year. If we really go, I'll be pushing to work with Judd Apatow (Freaks & Geeks, Undeclared). Sally wants to work with (and I knew she'd say this) Robin Schiff (Romy & Michelle's High School Reunion, Grosse Pointe). Cool, eh?

Los Angelinos of diaryland, get ready for roommates. Or, we could just go in on Robert Blake's house, which I hear is for sale for $1.5 million. We could, like, split it three ways or something.

Last Time On FadeIn - Next Week's Show

i am one bad updater:

enter email to find out when i update. powered by notifylist.com