n o w p l a y i n g - s c r i p t b i n - f a n c l u b - s t u d i o

make love to the camera



Feb 1 2001 - 10:50 am

A Very Special Episode of FadeIn

Man alive, I am a happy fool. In general.

I tried to start this entry without mentioning it, but I realized I couldn't. Why oh why does the woman who comes to sit at this desk when I go on my break feel the need to close out my web browsers, even though they're minimized? Oh, the agony! Thankfully, this time, she didn't turn on the light rock station on the little clock radio up here. Coming back to my desk to hear Hootie or Rod Stewart warbling at me does not a happy Bill make.

If I had but one wish to wish this is the wish I would wish today: That I would not have been such an idiot circa 1993. I'm not sure if I ever mentioned this before, but I am 25 years old and still one bloody year away from getting my undergrad degree. I am the saddest of sad sacks, yes. This is because I started out as an acting major, and had the intellectual and self esteem-style crap kicked out of me when I started at De Paul. I was not prepared. I studied there a few more semesters as undeclared, thankfully wiping out a few of my gen-eds. Then I transferred to Columbia and took another stab at the acting school there.

It took me a long time to realize that while I loved acting itself, I really hated studying it.

So, after a few long years of temping here and there and managing a restaurant, I realized that my long term prospects were going to be limited to serving barbecue or filing folders if I didn't decide to actually do something with my sad little life. That's when, in the summer of '99, that I decided to see what life as a television writing major was like.

It's been cool ever since. I am now a straight A's, Dean's list makin' mothafucka, as I should have been in the first place. I just didn't know how to go to school back then, you know? I didn't know how to learn. I didn't know that I would enjoy it so much, and come to regard bettering myself intellectually as one of the (cheese!) most valuable and treasured things life has to offer.

So, that's why I've got that wish. If I had known better back in the day, I could have studied literature and art and history, got a liberal arts degree at 22, and then gone on to get a masters in tv writing. That course of action would have given me a much fuller and broader base from which to write. And, best of all, I would have been done a year ago.

I do regret being such a layabout and slugabed during my period of 'youthful indiscretion.' But, in the end, it's cool. How can I hold a grudge against the path in life that got me to where I am so happy right this very moment? My prospects look very good, and I'm very proud of what I've done in school since I made that turnaround. I'm not sure if I would value it as much if I didn't have that limbo period.

I'm just getting impatient. A year until graduation sounds like a long time, but I know it'll end up going quickly. I just want to get out there and fucking contribute, already. I'll make up for lost time once it's my turn.

A whole lot of not too amusing blah blah blah today. Maybe I'll make up for it later and write another entry that is enjoyable. Oh! So far, my new poll has revealed some surprising findings about the migration habits of tadpoles. Scroll down and see for yourself.

Last Time On FadeIn - Next Week's Show

i am one bad updater:

enter email to find out when i update. powered by notifylist.com