n o w p l a y i n g - s c r i p t b i n - f a n c l u b - s t u d i o

make love to the camera



Jan 13 2001 - 11:13 am

Manifesto Or Why Not To See Movies With Tim Allen

Woo! I am so rock n' roll! I just organized my bookmarks! Woo!

Ahem.

I must really want to do what I do. I must really want to be a Television Writer. I chose this major with no idea of how much money you make. Up until Thursday, I assumed that your average shmo TV writer made about 60 or 70 thousand dollars a year. Nice salary. Decent. I wouldn't be rich but, hey, gotta start somewhere, right? I figured the big money comes somewhere later down the line.

It's a good thing I wasn't trying to negotiate any salries before Thursday.

Wanna know how much a TV writer makes on a shitty show? A weak show? Your 'Moesha,' your 'Two Guys and a Girl,' your...your...whatever? Do you wanna know? Well, do you?

Three Hundred Thouand Dollars a year.

Guh.

God Bless America.

So, speaking of outrageous salaries, I feel the need to respond to comments made in her diary by my dear, deeply thoughtful and intelligent friend LadieBug.

Re: Her views on Capitalism. See, I believe that there is nothing in this world that is inherently evil in itself. For example, guns themselves aren't evil, but they can be employed in 'evil' ways. Same with knives. Or pencils. Or...hell, anything. Even cottonballs.

So. This 'wretched -ism' of Capitalism: Is the Capitalist system as it currently exists the problem? I don't think so. I say, let Capitalism alone. It's not the system that's the problem. It's us.

Why does Capitalism succeed? Because there are people on this planet who pour their money into it. There are people on this planet who will spend twenty fucking dollars on a 'Billy Big Mouth Singing Bass.' There are people who buy Britney Spears CD's. There are people who go to Tim Allen movies.

Capitalism itself didn't spew (and I really think that the best word here is spew) forth these moronic indulgences. It may allow for them, but it really is the consumers who buy these products who are the root of the problem. If people didn't spend their money on this (and there's no other word for it) crap, then it would not be made and sold. Puke Flavored Pop doesn't exist because no one would buy it. However, if market research revealed that enough people wanted it, there it would be on the shelves.

Stupid, yes, but true. However, it just goes to illustrate that Capitalism will continue to allow us to wreak all sorts of havoc on ourselves as long as we pay it to do so. They will continue to feed us the sexism that results in body image issues as long as we buy Cosmo. They will hand deliver racist and prejudiced stereotypes if we keep going to see their movies. It's because of America's bad taste and/or stupidity and/or lack of self-awareness that this system exists in its' current form.

Last papragraph, steadfast reader: You can probably tell that my politics tend towards the Libertarian. I wouldn't care if some corporation decided to market Rat Poison Candy. If you're stupid enough to buy and eat it, you deserve what you get. I believe it's up to the individual to protect themselves from the consequences of their actions. I like Capitalism. Under this system, we have he highest possible amount of freedom. The price of that freedom is that we have to keep vigilant against those who would insult our intelligence.

Last Time On FadeIn - Next Week's Show

i am one bad updater:

enter email to find out when i update. powered by notifylist.com