n o w p l a y i n g - s c r i p t b i n - f a n c l u b - s t u d i o

make love to the camera



Dec 15 2000 - 2:17 pm

I Need Some Lunch

On my commute this morning, during one of the El's prolonged and frequent delays, my thoughts turned to movies, in particular 'The Talented Mr. Ripley.' I saw the movie a few months ago, and I didn't like it too much. It was a good concept, and a nice story, but there was something a bit off about it.

Some movies are like that. There are some you see that stay in your head, and some that you watch and instantly forget. Some of them you think about, remembering key scenes and lines of dialogue. You think about the concept. You sit back, generally impressed.

Others, you watch and wonder what happened to those two hours of your life. They come and go, like an unremarkable stranger you pass on the street. No further consideration given.

(This little shit of a supervisor I have who clawed her way up past me from temp-hood through ass-kissery just told me in her faux-jovial way to increase my productivity, so I went out for a cigarette.)

I'm back now.

On the train, I thought again about 'The Talented Mr. Ripley.' I wondered why that movie didn't work for me, and suddenly, I had it: The movie didn't take me anywhere.

I think good movies create worlds. They suck you in, and effectively make you stand in a different place. They make you think about things differently, make you notice details in the universe they briefly create. They're like vacations that way, when you travel and your mind is racing, hard at work at absorbing new surroundings.

'Ripley' didn't have that. Sure, we knew when and where they were. It was the past, obviously, during the Jazz Age. But, it didn't make me care. It could have been set during any other period and told the same story. It didn't matter. They didn't create a world. It was 132 minutes of 'fun with costumes.'

I'm at work, and I don't like it. My morning caffeine high is long gone. I feel melancholy. Cheer me up.

Last Time On FadeIn - Next Week's Show

i am one bad updater:

enter email to find out when i update. powered by notifylist.com