n o w p l a y i n g - s c r i p t b i n - f a n c l u b - s t u d i o

make love to the camera



Sept 11 2000 - 1:34 pm

The Casting Process

"A man falls in love with his eyes, a woman falls in love with her ears."

I read that quote over the weekend. It's generally true, and there are men in this world who should be down on their hands and knees thanking God above for that small mercy.

The Casting Process: Sometimes it isn't what you know...

I have been thinking lately about body image and other such issues. Sally is going on a diet, and until I started working all this overtime I was working out on a daily basis. She gained a few pounds in the year plus we have been going out, mostly due to the fact that I forced her to come out to dinner with me constantly. Well, her self-image started to suffer, and, even though the girl is beautiful, absolutely gorgeous, she's decided to dive headlong into a fitness program of diet and exercise.

There are some who would argue (an ex-girlfriend of mine among them) that losing weight and, thus, caring too much about looks, is nothing more than a vanity project. On one level, I understood her point of view. On another level, I knew that she was just being reactionary. And that's OK. If I were a woman, I'd be pissed off as well. The devil is alive and well, and he sometimes makes his home in the size 00 pants you see in the windows of the trendier shops in the mall.

However, what I didn't understand on any level, was my ex's statement that she was just going to 'let herself go.' I have to say that I didn't find this particularly endearing. "Hi, honey! What's that you say? You're 24 years old and you're never going to worry about looking fit again? You mean to say that, at this age, in the prime of your life, you've resigned yourself to having the body of a chubby 45 year old simply to spite the fashion industry? Well, isn't that grand? I have to go now!" Seriously though, I felt kind of cheated. It really wasn't so much the fact that she was out of shape, as it was the fact that she said she didn't really care, and never would again. That was the really unattractive part.

I don't think it's shallow for people to want to be in shape, whether it's for the purpose of being healthy or looking good. I look at it this way: We are human. We were born with both bodies and minds. It seems to me incompatible, or at least contradictory, to want to develop one and not the other. Human mental abilities are astounding things, capable of great creativity, conceptualizing and reason. The body too is a source of beauty, from both an aesthetic and performance outlook. To be interested in developing one at the exclusion of the other is shortsighted, and we owe it to ourselves as humans to strive for for the development of both.

To the female reader: Lest I sound as if I'm advocating a 'Victoria's Secret' style transformation, rest assured that I am not. Leave those size 00 pants on the shelf (unless, of course, you really are that size�don't go looking silly on my account), both metaphorically and literally. I would guess that, to most men, it doesn't matter if you're a 10, a 12, a 14, or whatever, as long as you're fit and firm. This advice I would advance to men, as well. Maintaining a respectable form is just as attractive as keeping oneself educated and informed.

Tell me, am I being reasonable or am I way off base?

Last Time On FadeIn - Next Week's Show

i am one bad updater:

enter email to find out when i update. powered by notifylist.com