n o w p l a y i n g - s c r i p t b i n - f a n c l u b - s t u d i o

make love to the camera



September 26, 2001 - 3:02 pm

Puffy Cheeks

How ironic. Here I am in a computer lab, at my school, and I come to Diaryland to grasp for a sense of community. At the moment, I am deep behind enemy lines in Glum Country.

Sometimes I really don't like the fact that I chose to go to school here. It's a commuter school, which means that, after class, 90% of the students dissipate out into the city and surrounding suburbs. The campus is more of an abstract idea than a physical space. This really isn't all too conducive to gaining college chums.

This makes me sad, as I know from looking at the lives of friends of mine, that those chums have the potential to turn into lifelong friends. I feel blue because all that I get from my college experience is a diploma. Sometimes, I wish the TV program here weren't so good, or that I didn't have just one semester left, or that it didn't make a world of sense to go to this school.

It wouldn't be so bad if my afternoon class wasn't cancelled, and I didn't have to somehow kill three hours today. Blegh. If this were some rinky dink small town campus I could go back to my dorm room, watch tv, and beat up my roommate. Or, I could go sit in the quad with the other people I know and complain about how phony college towns are. Or something. Anything. I have to admit that, knowing myself, if I were actually in this idyllic small college town I'd probably be wishing I were back in the city. I know I'm fickle, but for fuck's sake, can I at least have someone to sit around and be bored with when I'm here?

In cheerier news, my "question facilitator" (his phrase) for my Philosophical Issues In Film class quotes Public Enemy in the syllabus. Then we watched Goodfellas. Can you beat that?

Also, yesterday, I worked before I came to school, so I was wearing some beige corduroys, a collared shirt, and a black sweater over that. Normally, I'd just be walking around in jeans and a t-shirt. But, yesterday's look seems to be popular amongst the 18 year old lads walking around. All I need know are some thick rimmed glasses, a self-deprecating manner, and some messier hair and I'll fit right in.

(I was about to post this entry, and I was thinking about what to call it. When I'm thinking, I have a habit of puffing my cheeks out, I've noticed. Naturally, this chick sitting next to me chose this time to look over at me. I'm sure it was not attractive. This always happens.)

Last Time On FadeIn - Next Week's Show

i am one bad updater:

enter email to find out when i update. powered by notifylist.com