n o w p l a y i n g - s c r i p t b i n - f a n c l u b - s t u d i o

make love to the camera



September 25, 2004 - 12:24 pm

Best Of All, As I'm Doing All This, The Unemployment Checks Are Rolling In

Oh, where to begin, where to begin?

So, I came home on Sunday. It's now Saturday.

That's pretty much it.

OK, no it's not.

I could induce much eye-rolling and wax all rhapsodical about the greatness that is my home city, but I think at this point we can all just take it for granted that I likes the place.

The weather has been gorgeous: Just this side of cool, partly sunny, 50's at night. Fall is definitely on the way. But there hasn't been a drop of rain all week, unfortunately...I'm really hoping to get caught in a storm while I'm here. I want some thunder and lightning. I want a late summer, warm weather, mid afternoon, soaked through t-shirt.

What have I been up to? I've been spending a good deal of time with my youngest brother, Groundskeeper Barry. He gets that nickname because of his new job tending the ivy at Wrigley Field. He'll be quick to remind you that, no, he can't hook up you or anyone else with Cubs tickets.

And, of course, Sally and I have been spending tons of time together. Since my mom moved to the outlands of the far west side of Chicago, I've been choosing to spend most of this trip sleeping over at her place. Not only does it have the benefit of being centrally located, close to the El, and walking distance to many tasty good treats, but her place also features the unadvertised perk of sharing a bed with a buxom brunette, which I'd take over free utilities any old day.

I'm trying to stay out of her apartment as much as possible during my trip. Two reasons: I don't want to succumb to playing on the internet for hours each day during this trip, which would be all too easy. And I don't want to be in the way of her roommate, who doesn't have to work since he inherited quite the windfall. So I force myself to get out there and find things to do, which is actually great. I'd always wondered whether I'd enjoy traveling alone, and I think this trip is offering up proof that I could and would enjoy it.

Every time I get bored, or wonder what to do next, I'm buoyed by the thought that if I wasn't here, I'd be wishing I were.

Luckily, my coworker Lyle just moved to town with his girlfriend, and for the next two and a half weeks that I'm here I now have a built in playmate. More importantly, I now have someone to drive around and annoy with stories like 'That ugly house is where the developers built on top of my childhood home,' and 'See that mail box? That's where I fought the kid that called me fat and was trying to beat up my little brothers,' and 'I puked in that bar, and on my way out left them a $20 bill as an apology.'

Oh, the beautiful memories.

I've been keeping my eye on rental listings here. It seems like the apartment market is in a bit of a slump. Landlords are offering move in specials and reduced rents, making for some pretty amazing deals. If the career back in LA keeps up, I think I might be able to afford a one bedroom or studio here while I live and work in Los Angeles.

The ideal would be to work out there and then come back here to live for two or three months in between gigs. Sally and I have been half-jokingly toying with the idea of splitting a one bedroom so I can do just that some time next year. We'll see...I have no idea what that means for us or for the future. Right now, we're just enjoying the time we have together.

God, I love it here. The tone of this entry probably gets it across pretty well, but I'm more happy and relaxed than I've been in a long time.

Last Time On FadeIn - Next Week's Show

i am one bad updater:

enter email to find out when i update. powered by notifylist.com