n o w p l a y i n g - s c r i p t b i n - f a n c l u b - s t u d i o

make love to the camera



February 22, 2002 - 10:59 am

Corned Beef and Tater Tots

Ah. Today, I am back at the highschool. Meanwhile, the lives of most of my family members are going down the toilet. Thankfully, the lunchroom is serving tater tots.

More on that later. My family, that is, not the tater tots. Although I might write something else about tater tots. What I'm saying is, I'm not ruling it out.

Anyway.

First of all, though, all credit goes to Elle for turning me on to Irrational Exuberance, a little flash animation that I have come to love with all my very heart and soul, which I have linked here in case you don't read her, in which case, what's your problem? Also, if you never went and checked out the Star Wars gangsta rap then you, my friend, are an idiot.

Like I was saying before, my family has some problems. My mother works at this high school as well (it was her, in fact, that gave me the hook up), and I go to her office every day to say hello. This morning, I was treated to a litany of her money woes, caused by everything from her exploding furnace, her crappy van, her faulty electrical wiring, and a leaky roof. Our old house didn't have nearly as many problems.

(My mom just walked in and gave me half a corned beef sandwich on marble rye. I think this just pissed off my mom's sister, who also works here, who offered me a ham sandwich earlier, which I refused. Ever since I started here those two women have been vying for my love by throwing many a sandwich in my direction. Good Lord, they know me well.)

Anyway, on top of all of her problems with her house, I feel terrible for her because our 14 year old pup, Barney, who loves my mom with a devotion bordering on dog-fanaticism (it's possible) has been sick lately and may have bone cancer. It's fairly clear that Barney is going to die soon. My dad was always the one who trained the dogs in our families, and, now that he's gone, my mom doesn't think she can train a dog on her own. I hope that she wants to try, though, as she needs a canine companion. Life just wouldn't be the same for her without a dog around.

Then she tells me that my youngest brother Barry is in the midst of a depression. He's around 22 now, and, despite a slow start out of the gate after graduating from high school, up until this point has been doing pretty well as a film major at the same college I went to. Apparently, Barry has decided not to go to school this semester. He stopped by here last week to see my mom, and then went home with my mom, only to spend the next eight hours on her couch alternately staring off into space and crying. My mom says that he feels empty and isn't sure what to do with his life now.

When I was a bit younger than he is now, I went through something similar. This was back in my fuck-up days at DePaul. It took me a while to crawl my way out of it, but, obviously, I did. I'm going to stop by his apartment today, when I'm done here. In our adult lives, we've never been one anothers biggest confidants, but I'm going to see whether or not there's anything I can do for him.

At the very least, we can play Simpson's Road Rage together, and how can you be unhappy doing that?

As for how I'm doing: I'm fine. It looks like I have a job interview lined up for a reception type position at some accounting firm next week. Beh. A gig's a gig.

Oh, and this girl Sarah with whom I went to highschhol signed my guestbook, confessing that she has been secretly reading FadeIn. This is very much OK, and I don't mind at all. She said she'd been feeling dirty, which is a pretty common feeling one gets after reading this page.

In all seriousness, though, I don't mind anything Sarah does at all, as I don't want to piss her off. She's now a research scientist (true) who is investigating the cure for herpes (again, true). Without going into too much detail about my personal life, I hope she stops reading my diary and gets to work.

(Note: Like I said, I'm at the highschool, and there is NOTHING for me to do today. However, I was just brought yet another corned beef sandwich by my aunt's co-worker. I love this job. I'm not hungry for tater tots anymore, and I officially smell horrible.)

Last Time On FadeIn - Next Week's Show

i am one bad updater:

enter email to find out when i update. powered by notifylist.com