n o w p l a y i n g - s c r i p t b i n - f a n c l u b - s t u d i o

make love to the camera



September 14, 2001 - 7:10 pm

Not Necessarily Buying The World A Coke

I named my last entry 'delete.' I regret that. But not wholly.

Rarely, I am posting two entries in one day. I feel that the opinion I expressed in my last entry was incomplete. As soon as I posted it, I knew I was missing a paragraph or two that may have cleared things up, at least for me, to myself. Now I'm home again, and I can fix that.

I know I called for war. I know that last entry was written by the hawk inside me. But I don't want people to die.

Anybody.

I know that no matter what we do, we will never, ever, be able to "get" every single threat to us. No individual could remove every threat to their personal life, much less a nation protect itself from every threat. What I want is to see the systems removed that support and make possible terrorist actions. Or, at the very least, those systems lessened in strength. I don't know anybody who doesn't want that.

To extend that hornet's nest metaphor: Would I like to see those hornets removed? Yes. To feel safe would I need to splatter each and every one of them? No. Would I be happy if the thing were brought down and chucked in the forest without anyone at all getting stung? Very.

When I talk about war, I tend to imagine it intellectually. I know that war isn't clear cut and clean, and that's obvious when you look through any history book. But I really hope that no one out there thinks I would call for the death of innocents. I really hope people have a better sense of me than that.

And still, if hornets didn't sting us, we wouldn't feel the need to remove them. Maybe not removed to the point of eradicating all of them. But they still need to be removed.

Last Time On FadeIn - Next Week's Show

i am one bad updater:

enter email to find out when i update. powered by notifylist.com