n o w p l a y i n g - s c r i p t b i n - f a n c l u b - s t u d i o

make love to the camera



September 19, 2002 - 9:07 am

The Kid Stays Near The Picture

It�s come to my attention that I�ve been kind of remiss in explaining why I keep running into Andy Dick and all of these other people.

I�m in a structure on the CBS Radford lot that houses three stages. On one stage is my show, ATJ, on another is the Bernie Mac show, and on another is a pilot called �Less Than Perfect�. All of the offices for these shows are in this building, as well as some of the production offices for Malcolm in the Middle.

I see the cast and crew of all these shows all the time. I walked by Bernie Mac himself in the hallway the other day. Yesterday, Frankie Muniz ran right by me, calling after his mother. And, naturally, I see someone from my show nearly every day.

So, yesterday, just to be nice, the cast of LTP pooled together and bought the cast and crew of both our show and theirs a coffee cart. That�s a little truck that comes out to the lot and parks near the stage, from which you can order a coffee or a smoothie.

So, I go out there yesterday, thinking a smoothie is in order because I can�t imagine a situation in which I�d actually use my own money to purchase one so I might as well take advantage of them while they�re free.

This is also why I tend to eat a lot of chicken Caesar salad when the office orders lunch.

I�m ordering, and an actress, Andrea, from LTP strikes up a conversation with me. I�d talked to her on the elevator before, but this was the first time we had a good-sized conversation. She complimented me on not being an actor in LA, we talked about live performance, etc. I asked her if this was her first big gig. She said that it wasn�t, and I kind of sensed something in the air there, as she didn�t say anything like �No, actually, I�ve done�� so I just let it go and we talked about something else.

Later, when I was up in the office, I headed over to the good ol� IMDB, and found that she had done tons of stuff, from ER to JAG. She had done quite well, and apparently wasn�t in the mood to brag. I also learned something else about another cast member of her show.

For a few weeks now, I�ve been running into one of the actors everywhere I went. I�d see him sitting outside taking a break, or I�d run into him in the hallways or on the elevator. We always talked about nothing in particular. Elevator smalltalk. I thought nothing of it, really.

One morning, I was on the elevator with him, and he turns to me and says �Man, I never thought acting was going to be a 9 to 5 job.� Internally, I�m thinking �What a bastard this new actor guy is. He gets a sitcom gig and complains about it.� I do not, however, voice that thought. Instead, I say to him �Yeah, but you�re acting, man. Who cares about 9 to 5? Do it 12 hours a day, do it 16 hours a day.�

He laughed and said, �Yeah, you�re right.� Then, as he got off the elevator at the second floor, he looked back and told me �Peace.�

�Hippie acting bastard,� thought I.

Yesterday, I found out that was Eric Roberts.

Looks like he�s part of the cast of Less Than Perfect.

Handy tool, that IMDB.

Now, I�ve just got to resist the urge to ask him how Julia�s doing.

In news that�s actually exciting, Robin Schiff is going to be here later on today. She�s a very nice and cool lady, and she met me for coffee once before, as we have been corresponding by email for a while. It�ll be cool to chat with her again.

That�s all the starfucking I have in me today.

Last Time On FadeIn - Next Week's Show

i am one bad updater:

enter email to find out when i update. powered by notifylist.com