n o w p l a y i n g - s c r i p t b i n - f a n c l u b - s t u d i o

make love to the camera



April 22, 2003 - 8:18 am

You Still Use Gel? That's So 80's

Last week, a fellow human being actually referred to me as "marketable."

It made me feel like a Beanie Baby.

Today, I am exhausted yet content.

Yesterday's activities included work, a haircut, phone calls home, a surprise performance at the Improvolympic by the lovely yet extraordinarily foul-mouthed Sarah Silverman, and a half hour search for my car in a mammoth parking garage.

Because, really, why do something smart like remember where I actually parked my car?

That never happens to me. I have a great sense of direction, most of the time, but I happened to be in a rush yesterday and just assumed that I'd be able to find the car again easily.

During most of the search, my primary feeling was one of amusement at my foibles. These feelings changed about 20 minutes into it, when a woman passed me, immediately sized up my situation, and very unhelpfully said "Oooh, child...I know a woman who had to be driven around for an hour and a half to find her car once."

She then got in her car and drove away, as my feelings of chagrin melted and I considered various ways to kill myself using my cell phone and/or keys.

I then located my car and spent 40 minutes stuck in traffic on my way to my destination.

God bless Los Angeles.

I have a roommate who constantly complains about never having any money, and then goes to Best Buy and purchases $100 worth of stuff, some of said stuff being a GI Joe DVD because "this is the season where they got the best writers."

He's still a pretty good guy.

I accompanied him on his reckless spending Best Buy excursion this weekend, and bought a little item of my own that I've been meaning to buy for some time now.

I've decided to learn the French.

I bought a french language cd-rom, and now I have two virtual french teachers inhabiting my computer. One is a delightfully busty blond woman, and the other is a guy who dresses like a Blockbuster video employee and has pervert written all over him.

I've wanted to learn French for a while, just for fun. I'm decent with Spanish, and I can read German, but, like many, I think French pronounciation is really beautiful and interesting. Besides, I plan on visiting France some day, and I think it'll be really fun to be that obnoxious American that butchers their language while ordering a coke.

So far, my favorite word is "pamplemousse." I also like that potatoes are called "pomme des terre," or apples of the earth.

The single word that's giving me the most trouble, pronounciation-wise, is their word for car: voiture. It looks like it should be "voy-twa," but that is not the case.

The actual pronounciation is closer to "Vou-terrroiaACK."

Why can't they be more like the spanish and just call it an 'auto'?

One more super long day of work and improv, and then tomorrow will be a night of laundry and relaxation.

And I will remember where my car is parked.

Last Time On FadeIn - Next Week's Show

i am one bad updater:

enter email to find out when i update. powered by notifylist.com