n o w p l a y i n g - s c r i p t b i n - f a n c l u b - s t u d i o

make love to the camera



October 14, 2003 - 12:30 pm

My Email With Sally

So, I was just writing an email to Sally, who had asked me for a life update. After that, I was going to write an entry. I realized that I was planning to write an entry about the same stuff I was writing to her, so why write twice? I've copied my email to her here for all to read.

Cheap exploitation of my personal correspondence for entry fodder, or timesaving modern miracle?

"hello hello, sweet sally.

coffee, yes.

punk'd: the interview/audition was weird. it was just me sitting in front of a camera having a conversation with the casting director. it lasted five minutes or so. no improv. i think it was just kind of a 'look-see' to see if they wanted to work with me based off my look and the way i acted on screen. i havent heard anything, and i dont expect to. i didnt get my hopes up in any significant way...i figure that if my ratio for getting "booked" for commercial/industrial gigs in chicago was 1 for every 20 or 25 auditions, things out here are markedly more difficult.

either way, im still high off the fact that i was tapped for this from my showcase.

last night i had my last improv class. level six: over. craig did this hot seat kind of evaluation where each of us, one by one, sat in a chair and was complimented by the entire class. people said such amazing things about me. i was called a 'smart' and 'unique' player by one of my favorite guys in class, and people said they were never afraid of doing a scene with me because they knew it would be good. they said i was a very generous and giving scene partner, and that i had the ability to support what the other person was doing while still putting my stamp on a scene, and bringing my ideas into it.

when we got to the part where people were supposed to tell us what they'd like to see us do more, someone said they'd like to see me play 'goofy' characters, but then someone else said that i dont need to do that, that it would almost ruin my playing style, because im so good at playing straight men/myself. they also said i should sing more, which was funny and weird, and i took it as a compliment, because craig had just had us do a warmup montage of singing scenes.

so, yes. very touching and very cool. i had to share.

i saw Kill Bill this weekend. it didnt change my life. in fact, if i went into starbucks and ordered a cup of coffee and asked them to make it as violent as possible, they would give me a big cup of that movie.

you said:

"it's rainy out. everyone is miserable. but you'd be happy."

yeah. so true. i was just watching the wgn news at noon. they showed a live shot of wrigley field. it was all rainy and the streets were slick. i actually sighed aloud. then, from another angle, the IO was on screen for a good long while. i miss home. i miss hanging out with you, too. i miss eating at orange garden and roong petch and fiesta and stanley's and katerina's. im in kind of a truce with LA right now...im making myself not hate it as much. it doesnt get me anywhere.

i was picking up my friend robin the other day, to carpool to class. she's the one that lives near the ocean. i was standing outside her place, leaning over a railing, watching these huge waves crash in to the beach. they rolled in from right to left, the way it would look if you tore a white colored ribbon off a giant gray mass. the sound would hit you a moment later. i try to take my little bits of happiness from moments like that. it doesnt touch me the same way that seeing chicago's downtown skyline while riding the el, just before you pull into the sedgwick stop, touches me, but im taking what i can get.

miss you. how are you? good luck with your playground show tonight.

Bill"

Last Time On FadeIn - Next Week's Show

i am one bad updater:

enter email to find out when i update. powered by notifylist.com