n o w p l a y i n g - s c r i p t b i n - f a n c l u b - s t u d i o

make love to the camera



May 17, 2001 - 9:00 am

C'mon, Rocky Boy

Well, she's off to Dublin, which makes me experience extreme jealousy, especially in light of the fact that I won't be joining Sally on her trip to London. These two things together just make me realize how much I'd like a vacation. Then, I got to thinking about the UK and Ireland in general, then, I got up to pee, then, I realized that I've never shown you guys these:

When you're gallavanting around London, this is such a necessary pilgrimage. And, yes, that is an unfortunate bleach stain in my jeans, but they only cost me two dollars anyway, so don't worry, I'll be alright.

Neat, eh? That's me in the front, my brother Barry second, this chick Marsha third (notice how she is shoeless...attention to detail is a FadeIn trademark) and then there's Pat bringing up the rear. The only bad thing is that the people who took this picture (they were Norwegian, I think) we're too scared to stand in the middle of the road, thus accounting for the slightly off center version of this picture. Damn Norwegians. But, it's really OK, since this angle allows you to see the German girls who noticed what we were doing, and literally jumped up and down chittering excitedly in their native tongue.

Hmm. Can anyone who speaks German actually be said to 'chitter?' Maybe not. It's not exactly a 'chitterly' language.

Anyway, if simply being there weren't cool enough (and, yes, that's the same intersection, although it's hard to tell because of the aforementioned Damned Norwegians), we happened to go on the thirty year anniversary of when the original picture was taken. I remember we were sitting at breakfast, and I was reading the paper, which is apparently a morning ritual I can't shake even while traveling, when I noticed the article about the picture and the anniversary. We made it our business to go as soon, just as soon, as we were able.

C'mon, Rocky boy.

So, we did, and it was fun. Then, we went to Camden, an outdoor market. A guy at a stall tried to sell me three concert video tapes, two by the Pixies and one by the Smiths, for ten pounds. I was very tempted, but I declined, and it was a good thing too, because later I learned that the tapes likely would not have worked in my VCR anyway.

Then, we ate some very tasty Thai food at an Irish pub. Yeah, we were confused too. God, I miss travel.

I'm pretty much free for the rest of the day, after I write a paper. I'm in the mood for pancakes. Who's with me?

Last Time On FadeIn - Next Week's Show

i am one bad updater:

enter email to find out when i update. powered by notifylist.com