n o w p l a y i n g - s c r i p t b i n - f a n c l u b - s t u d i o

make love to the camera



September 15, 2003 - 11:46 am

No Control Of It

Well, well, well...

No sooner do I accuse a Saturday Night Live cast member of stealing my Le Tigre CD than it mysteriously reappears in the light booth. It had been missing for months, and just like that, there it was last night. Coincidence?

Definitely.

First of all, Amy Poehler isn't reading this. Secondly, even if she were, she wouldn't be intimidated into returning stolen goods by an online diary entry. She would much more likely, laugh, flip me off, and then verbally slice me in half.

It was a theory.

Speaking of the Improvolympic, it is slowly beginning to absorb my life. Today, I'm going to be up there from 1pm to 11pm, for the last rehearsal for this freelance lighting gig I'm doing, and then class. I will then be there tomorrow night, Wednesday night, and likely Thursday as well. I was also there last night, as usual, to do my Sunday night lighting shift. Last week was exactly the same, substituting Saturday for Tuesday.

And now, I may begin running lights for another theater on Fridays and Saturdays through mid October. It pays, but only cigarette and gas money. I sought that out, and it seems like a good way to meet more people, actors specifically, and see what other small theaters in Los Angeles are all about.

I'm really enjoying embroiling myself in all this theater work, though. If anyone knows someone that needs a theater adminsistrator in LA, you are commanded to let me know. I'm making a conscious effort to sink my claws deep enough into this city so that, come Thanksgiving, I'm not throwing my hands up and driving east down the 10 and back to Chicago.

Not that I don't want to do that. Escape from LA, that is. I am so incredibly homesick right now. If Chicago were a girl, my friends would be telling me to get the fuck over her already. They'd be begging me to tell her to stop calling me. It isn't helping, hearing from her when I'm trying to move on and deal with other things.

Just when I'm at my most vulnerable and lonely, she calls me and says things like "Hey, babe, it's me, Chicago. I just heard about this beautiful one bedroom apartment on the northside and I thought I should tell you about it. It's got exposed brick, a fireplace, and hardwood floors. It's a two block walk from the brown line, and it's all utilities included. Best of all, it's $650! Isn't that great? Are apartments like that so inexpensive out there? Probably not.

"Oh, did you see the Cubs game the other day? I know you can only watch them on TV out there, but it was a beautiful day to sit in Wrigley Field and have a beer and a hot dog. After the game, some people I know went across the street to the Chicago IO. I bet you could get on a Harold team there if you told them how well you did at the LA IO and auditioned. Don't you think so?

"Have you gone to the LACMA yet? I don't know about that place...It looks like a big box in the middle of the city! Personally, I like the classical greek architecture of the Art Institute, right on the lakefront. The green lions want to know if you're going to visit. Still free on Tuesdays, you know...

"I've got to get going. I'm so busy! Fall is coming, and I've got to make sure the leaves change colors, and then, after that, the gray, quiet winters. Got to get the snow on those bare tree branches! Remember how beautiful you thought that was? I guess Los Angeles doesn't have to worry about that. She's got enough problems, what with the smog and traffic and sprawl. Is she ever going to get decent public transportation? Probably not, but I guess if people like to sit at a complete stop at green lights, what do I know? Anyway, see you at Christmas? Scarves and gloves and hot chocolate! We'll have a snowball fight! Bye, sweetie!"

That bitch. That beautiful, beautiful bitch.

I know Chicago is the one for me. Los Angeles is a slut. She sees anyone she wants, and she's treating some of her guys better than me, and some worse, and she doesn't care either way. Her daddy has connections, and we need them. I'll try to enjoy my fling with this mildly attractive whore of a city, but I'll have my babies with Chicago.

She's all I've been thinking about lately. I know, I know. I know I write about this a lot, and I'm aware of how obnoxious reading it can be. It is just such a powerful force in my life, though. Amazingly so, to the point where it surprises and saddens me. I had no idea I'd feel this way, this strongly, when I came here. I thought I would find a world class city. A London, with cars, maybe. But it isn't that way at all. I just can't help feeling this way, and believe me, I hate it more than you do.

I miss Chicago, and I have to find time to go visit her soon.

Last Time On FadeIn - Next Week's Show

i am one bad updater:

enter email to find out when i update. powered by notifylist.com