n o w p l a y i n g - s c r i p t b i n - f a n c l u b - s t u d i o

make love to the camera



January 20, 2005 - 12:43 pm

Mothers & Fathers

So, I saw the 'Fat Albert' movie yesterday, and I'm in a much better mood.

OK, so the two events aren't really related. Though I did hate the movie a lot less than I thought I would. My review reads thusly: It's the perfect movie to see if you're waiting for your car to be finished being repaired, and workmen are in your apartment replacing the plumbing, and you're wandering aimlessly on a walk around Culver City and you find yourself near the movie theater and you're not hungry and you'd really rather not sit in a cafe and nothing else is showing at 310pm.

Under those conditions, the movie is, in a word, awesome.

But as for the better mood: I went to a good friend's party this weekend, saw some people, said a goodbye or two, and got good and drunk and generally had a great time. Blowing off a little steam and relaxing was exactly what the doctor ordered. I've got most of my errands checked off a rather impressive to do list, my little brother is flying in tonight, and in a few days, Los Angeles is going to be in my rear view mirror, and I won't mind a bit.

Despite the fact that I never quite took to this city, I will miss it a little. Not that much, but a little. I wouldn't have left if it wasn't for my mom and the situation, so I guess that's saying something for the place.

My friend Natalie reminded me of this little anecdote from Christmas:

Every year, my family and my extended family gather at my mom's on Christmas Day. It's her birthday, and we get the whole family together to screw her over on gifts. After the festivities and the eating, we all get down with board games. In recent years, a game called 'Outburst' has become our favorite.

Outburst features a two sided card with a category and ten answers. The categories are things like 'Tom Hanks Movies,' and 'Foods That Are Yellow,' and each side has ten answers. The guessing team has a minute to guess as many answers as they can. We divide into teams, and it's always boys against girls, my mom and her sisters and our girl cousin versus my brothers and myself and our boy cousin.

At one point, it was the girl teams turn to guess answers, and their category happened to be something like 'Naughty Games You Play.' Answers were things like 'doctor' and 'seven minutes in heaven,' stuff like that.

So, the girls are guessing along, doing their best, and the minute is almost up. Suddenly, out of nowhere, seconds to go, my mom blurts out something that is with me to this day.

"Stinkyfinger!"

The table erupts in laughter. Someone asks my mom what that is. I tell my mom not to answer. There are only two possible origins for a 'stinkyfinger' when it comes to naughty games people play, and I really don't need to hear my mom explain either.

It's not that I don't accept the fact that my parents have had sex. Many people are freaked out by this, but I'm not. I mean, let's face it, we're all here and reading this, so at one point, your mom thought your dad had a sexy cock, and your dad liked doing your mom doggy style.

He probably still does.

But I digress. Like I said, I'm not squeamish about parent sex. It's just that my mom is exactly candid enough and likes freaking people out enough that she would have relished describing exactly what a stinkyfinger entailed.

Oh my God...it just occurred to me that it might not have necessarily been my dad's finger that was stinky.

That's pretty disturbing, actually.

Last Time On FadeIn - Next Week's Show

i am one bad updater:

enter email to find out when i update. powered by notifylist.com