n o w p l a y i n g - s c r i p t b i n - f a n c l u b - s t u d i o

make love to the camera



April 18, 2003 - 9:24 am

The Hard Easy Thing

Yesterday, I was this close to registering the domain name www.ebay.iq

Yes, the ".iq" suffix is for Iraq.

Then I realized that most Iraqis don't have computers. And probably won't for a while.

Then I realized they could just go to the plain old ebay.com if they wanted.

Then I realized ebay would likely have internet thugs break my legs.

So, I didn't.

A brief excerpt from a recent conversation:

Me: how long were you dating your guy?

GirlWithWhomIWasSpeaking: oh only 4 months

GirlWithWhomIWasSpeaking: actually, it was 3 months, 3 weeks of greatness and then like 5 days of shit

Me: seems to be a lot of that going around lately

You know, it's not even so much that fact that we split. That, I could handle. It's the how. It just feels like something that spiraled out of hand, like a stupid movie misunderstanding. For as short as it was, it was so cool, and so good, that I never thought it would end up this way. It feels like it should be someone else's story, because it just doesn't fit in with the 99% of everything else. We made fun of the people who acted this way, people who invited the drama. We were better than it.

Baffling.

I think that having to endure a sudden shift or string of bizarre choices from someone you trusted might make a lot of people bitter or distrustful in general. That's not the way it works for me, though. I always try to remember that everyone has the potential to both be fantastic and...not so fantastic. Maybe it's naive, but I am a big fan of the benefit of the doubt.

Humans are generally good, when they behave.

Sometimes, misbehavin' is decidedly unsexy.

It is amazing, the amount of trouble in this world, that could probably be spared through a brief and clear conversation.

I think this topic has finally reached the point where it is just not worth my time anymore.

On an entirely different note: This guy is dead on right in this entry right here.

Last Time On FadeIn - Next Week's Show

i am one bad updater:

enter email to find out when i update. powered by notifylist.com