n o w p l a y i n g - s c r i p t b i n - f a n c l u b - s t u d i o

make love to the camera



September 19, 2001 - 7:59 am

Please Show Me Your Papers

It's a diaryland fact of life that, when you look through the members area, the stupid diaries you see that are titled 'silkpanties' or 'sexpixie' or 'lustnuggets' or whatever are inevitably disappointing. It's obvious that this nation is in decline when hormonally percolating 12 year olds can't produce decent smut.

It's a good thing Letterman says that, in spite of all this, he is still sending out his "erotic newsletter." God bless that man.

And, really, he was amazing Monday night. Watching his opening monolgue was just so touching. You could tell he was determined to say what he had to say, and he wasn't afraid to rein in his emotions. Watching him, it was the closest I myself had come to crying since last Thursday or Friday. Just amazing, and just such a beautiful event to watch on television. Sally correctly said that hearing him talk was just as important in this context as hearing anything the president had to say. Considering Letterman's relationship with a national audience, especially due to his relationship with New York, I'd say she's right.

Conan did his own version last night, and he was pretty emotional as well, but it just didn't have the same impact. I love Conan too, and I'm just glad that he's back. His weird hair and large potato head are a beacon of brightness in these dark days.

And God bless those men in another way, too. If they say it's time to get on with the funny, I feel like it's OK for me, too.

Know what else is OK with me? I go back to 'What About Joan' this Friday. Fuck yeah. Needless to say, that makes me so very, very happy. Stay tuned to this channel to recieve more reports on my making of photocopies, eating of delectables, and general schmoozing with the glitterati. I'm going to use this opportunity to offer the writers cash to read my work and give me notes. I figure that this gives me the opportunity to have my work reviewed and criticized by pros, as well as give them a general sense of my ability. Hopefully, that will make them more open to taking me on in a professional capacity when I gradu-fucking-ate (finally) in January. My current daydream of choice is that one of them gets so excited about my pilot that he or she wants to help me get it pitched. Mmmmmmmm....success.....

That's the big news, but here are some sniglets of info that I just plain dadgum forgot to mention:

- Nickelodeon and their fellowship program to which Sally and I applied? Summarily dissed us. Thanks but no thanks, and here's your rejection letter typed up on our wacky stationary. Bastards. Bastards bastards bastards. As a former pursuant of the thespianism, however, I am used to rejection. At least I have Joan, and also, my mom says I'm the handsomest kid in school, so I feel fine.

-The one year anniversary of FadeIn was September 7th. I completely missed it. Next year, though, BBQ at my place. BYOB. I make a kick ass marinade. Up until that point, I think I had about 163 entries, which averages out roughly to an entry every 2.25 days or so. Not too shabby.

-The ghetto-ocity of work has finally got to me. I'm giving my notice today. Financially, I will be fine, as my tuition is supplied entirely by grants from Uncle Sam. I also have the option to take out federal loans, and that's how I'm going to get through this semester. I'll pay for my decadence one day, but good Christ: it's my last semester, I have six classes, I'm going to be busy as hell, and I deserve better than sitting in a doctor's office til 7:30 each night making sure doctors refill their patient's Claritin prescriptions when I have papers to write.

Speaking of work, I better go remove this unsightly stubble. Not only do I have to quit today, I have to quit and tell them that I have no bloody idea where my ID card could be. Oh, will they hate me.

Last Time On FadeIn - Next Week's Show

i am one bad updater:

enter email to find out when i update. powered by notifylist.com