n o w p l a y i n g - s c r i p t b i n - f a n c l u b - s t u d i o

make love to the camera



January 11, 2005 - 12:32 pm

Pointless Moaning

Ah, unemployment. My job ended Friday, and now it's sleeping in, as much coffee as I can drink, and back to back Rockford Files and Magnum PI on WGN for the next two weeks until I get on the road.

Why work, really? Why work?

For the past few days, it's been nothing but ghosts, ghosts, ghosts in my apartment building. I read a review of 'White Noise' and then looked up EVP, or electronic voice phenomenon. It's the practice wherein crazy people walk around graveyards and other haunted places trying to tape record the voices of the dead.

For super crazy freak outs, take a listen to this one and my favorite, though it's a bit sad.

And if you have a fast connection at work and nothing to do, go ahead and google "ghost movies" and you will be entertained all the live long day.

So, now I've got ghosts on the brain, and when it's late and I'm alone in the apartment, I manage to freak myself out with all sorts of ghostly thoughts. I'm in complete all limbs under the covers mode. It doesn't help that I know that someone once committed suicide in the apartment downstairs.

It's so weird. Putting aside whether it's real or not, this is just bizarre stuff to listen to. Sometimes, the ghosts respond to questions in a way that makes sense, even if in kind of a roundabout way. Other times they'll just kind of randomly babble. It makes me think of the things that people say in dreams.

Alls I know is that if I were a ghost, I'd be having a lot more fun than these guys. If the tape recorder crowd came along, I'd bust out with the occasional ghostly "Eeeeeeebeneeeeeeezeerrrrrr," or "You look chubbbbbbbby...chuuuuuuuuubbbbbby!" and "Get a girrrrrrlfriennnnnnd....girrrrrrrlfriennnnnnnd!"

Pointless, moaning emphasis is the most powerful weapon in the ghost arsenal.

So, I tried to capture my own ghost voice the other day. I didn't have a tape recorder, so I turned on the voice memo function of my cell phone, asked any nearby spirits to introduce themselves, and held the phone aloft.

I can report that, Friday evening, there were no ghosts available for comment on top of the Hollywood CNN building parking structure.

Last Time On FadeIn - Next Week's Show

i am one bad updater:

enter email to find out when i update. powered by notifylist.com