n o w p l a y i n g - s c r i p t b i n - f a n c l u b - s t u d i o

make love to the camera



June 26, 2002 - 8:00 am

Too Much Summer

I don't really have time for a good update, but I really do have to mention that there's a landscaper who works across the street from my apartment who looks exactly like Libya's Mohmar Khaddafi.

You know, as opposed to the other Mohmar Khaddafi.

I wonder if Khaddafi ever talks to Saddam Hussein and says stuff like "Dude, seriously. It's not worth it. You're throwing away the best years of your life, man. Just sticking to writing romance novels, having sex with your concubines, and killing dissenting family members. It's a dead end, believe me."

That conversation would, of course, take place at the Insane Middle Eastern Despot's Conference.

Held annually.

Yesterday, some of us in the film program realized how dumb you would have to be to try to break into the business by writing a script for 'Survivor.'

I'm on page 85 of my script, and we have to have the first draft done by Friday. It'll happen, but it'll be close. For a first screenplay, I'm pretty happy with it.

Some of the program's more interesting speakers of late have been:

Alexander Payne - Adapted and directed 'Election.'

I asked him a question: When you get rewrite work from studios (he and his partner were asked to do rewrites for Jurassic Park 3), are you ever tempted to insert elements into the script that are subversive to the film itself?

His reply: Fuck yeah!

Steve Pink - Wrote 'Grosse Pointe Blank' and co-wrote 'High Fidelity.'

How cool is that?

In other news, perpetual summer is for the birds.

Last Time On FadeIn - Next Week's Show

i am one bad updater:

enter email to find out when i update. powered by notifylist.com