n o w p l a y i n g - s c r i p t b i n - f a n c l u b - s t u d i o

make love to the camera



September 17, 2001 - 12:18 p.m.

Irish Car Bombs Less Lethal Than Normal

I just felt hopeful for the first time since all of this began, and since I'm clutching to any feeling that makes me want to come here and write again, here I am.

I just heardfrom the BBC that Afghanistan is now seriously considering handing over Bin Laden. This may be the best possible outcome. With Bin Laden in custody, with Taliban compliance, this may help mute any further terrorism. That's what I'm hoping, and that's why I'm hopeful.

I also heard an interesting opinion over the past few days. There's hope that the attack may prompt a sooner switchover to alternative sources of power. The idea behind this is that it may help siphon off sources of funds from those who finance these attacks with oil money.

This whole thing is so hard not to think about. To some extent, it's always been on my mind over the past week. I love coming here and amusing myself with FadeIn. It's hard for me to set out to be amusing right now, though. Everything I want to say or laugh about feels trite. If this were a normal time, I'd be complaining about a hangover right now, cursing beer, and not looking forward to going back to work.

I'm still not looking forward to going back to work.

Despite September 11th, despite the fact that I have to go back to work, despite the effects of a drink called the Irish Car Bomb (a shot of whiskey and bailey's, dropped, shot glass and all, into a half pint and guinness, chugged), I am happy I'm here. I'm happy you're here. We're still lucky, we really are.

Last Time On FadeIn - Next Week's Show

i am one bad updater:

enter email to find out when i update. powered by notifylist.com