n o w p l a y i n g - s c r i p t b i n - f a n c l u b - s t u d i o

make love to the camera



July 01, 2002 - 12:44 pm

You Take The Good, You Take The Bad

WOE!

Woe unto me!

For the usual reasons, of course.

I can�t wait until a few months from now, when I�m looking back on this period of my moving out here as the fretful preliminary stages of my new life. Until then, though, good fucking lord. I mean, I know that my problems right now are silly little relationship bullshittery, and that there are others who are so much worse off than me, but man�did this really need to be timed like it is?

GOD: Hey, Bill, you�ve had it pretty damn good the last five years. How about we put you in a new city where you know only two people, give you a fuckload of work to do, and then have your ex-girlfriend that you are oh so clearly not over yet go hang out with a new guy?

BILL: That sounds pretty shitty to me, God.

GOD: I work in mysterious ways, Champ.

Of course, there�s always the good that goes along with the bad.

For instance, last night, I got the phone number of a big fat Jew.

Yes, as Johnson says, I wrangled him into going to the Improvolympic West with me. It was a free show, hosted by Jeff Garlin (Curb Your Enthusiasm, and much much more!) featuring Bob Odenkirk and Moon Zappa. Funny stuff, and Jonny boy has a more complete account on his page.

So, after the show, I walked up to Jeff Garlin and said �Hey! Remember me?� I told him I was an intern on �What About Joan� and then it all came flooding back to him. He remembered me, the school I went to, and asked me what I was doing out here. I told him about the program, which he said he had heard of, and then�he gave me his card and told me to call him if I need anything at all.

I should have said �I could use a car.�

Yes, so Jeff�s going to be hearing from me, I tell you what.

Last night was great all around. At IO West, I ran into two people I knew from Chicago. I had taken classes with them at Second City.

We walked around Hollywood, the part of this city that actually looks like a city and not a suburb pretending to be a city.

We ate two teeny tiny pieces of pizza.

Sadly, it was my best night in Los Angeles yet.

It finally felt like home.

Last Time On FadeIn - Next Week's Show

i am one bad updater:

enter email to find out when i update. powered by notifylist.com