n o w p l a y i n g - s c r i p t b i n - f a n c l u b - s t u d i o

make love to the camera



Jan 31 2001 - 11:33 am

This...Is Grand

No angst to report. After all, I am getting paid $10 an hour to do this.

I just saw a guy wearing a yamulke down in the lobby. I had to resist a very strong impulse to start whistling 'hava nagila.' Crisis averted.

A long time ago, I made a pledge to never relate in this diary any dreams that I have. Telling someone the details of your dream is possibly one of the most boring and annoying acts you can inflict upon a fellow human being. I will keep that pledge, but I will tell you that my dream from last night was absolutely hilarious. Without getting into too many details, it was kind of like 'Scary Movie' but actually witty and funny. I was an FBI agent who had to keep this guy from murdering people in a movie theater.

OK, now I've gone too far in violation against the aforementioned pledge. But, let's not stop there. I contend that there was something notable worth sharing. The movie theater was one that had shown up in my dreams at least once before. There were two screens, and the audience was laid out on kind of a criss-cross angle, like in this crude little drawing:

Cosmic significance? Utter strangeness? Why has this movie theater shown up at least once before, and why is it back? And why would anyone go to such a poorly designed movie theater?

Switching gears: I'm riding the subway this morning (trains are also something that show up in my dreams all the time, but let's not get into that) and everything is normal. The train is packed, and everyone is stuffed together, making (much to my dismay) coffee drinking or paper reading nigh impossible. This one guy in particular is standing very close to me. Anyway, the train has an automated voice that tells you what stop you're approaching ("This...is Belmont. This...is Diversey" and so forth). Well, every morning I'm on the train, I'm always the crazy one smiling to myself when we approach Grand Avenue, because I like to hear the robot voice say "This...is Grand." This morning it wasn't so Grand, though, because the man standing next to me was still standing oppressively close besides the fact that there was ample room to move away. It was almost as if he weren't conscious of it either, like an electrically charged balloon sticking to a wall. So, not wanting to move from my spot, I decide to give this guy a gentle little push as a general reminder that he's practically standing on another human being. Surprisingly, this resulted in no kind of incident, and the guy floated off down the aisle of the train. It kind of reminded me of cattle the way he moved away so mindlessly. Not that I'm all that familiar with cattle.

Last Time On FadeIn - Next Week's Show

i am one bad updater:

enter email to find out when i update. powered by notifylist.com