n o w p l a y i n g - s c r i p t b i n - f a n c l u b - s t u d i o

make love to the camera



Jan 23, 2001 - 10:54 am

Yes, I am Blind, No, I CAN See

And now, FadeIn presents that classic Diaryland cliche:

The entry composed of randomness (or, as others might say, several entries for the price of one)!

1: Yesterday, I had to sneeze. I was standing in the doorway of my bathroom at the time. Sneeze + Doorframe = A dull, red bump on your forehead.

2: Also, yesterday, I was at the bank. As I was getting ready to deposit some checks, the bank alarm went off. If you've never heard a bank alarm, let me inform you that it sounds like a satanic, mutated cow giving birth. As it rang, the employees looked around, bewildered, while myself and the rest of the customers glanced up, noted no immediate danger, and went back to what we were doing. The alarm continued ringing for about five minutes, and as I stood in line, I found myself thinking 'I wish something would happen. I'd love to write about it.' Realized later on my walk home that wishing for bank robbers to appear is actually quite insane.

3: Still cracking myself up over this entry.

4: Oh, and, finally: I was talking to a girl the other day who is studying neurophysiology. I told her to tell me something that no one knows about the brain. She said that if your brain becomes damaged in a very particular way, you will believe that you are blind when you are actually not. Confused? Me too. She said that when a certain cord is severed in your brain, your brain will lose consciousness of the fact that you can see. In effect, you will believe that you are blind. However, bewilderingly, your eyes will still send enough information to your brain to allow you to, say, pick the one green marble out of 99 whites ones. Or even drive. You'll think you're blind, but you aren't. There is no possible rehabilitation for this condition.

Have a nice day.

(Oh, and feel free to use the remote control to channel surf during the commercials, if you haven't already.)

Last Time On FadeIn - Next Week's Show

i am one bad updater:

enter email to find out when i update. powered by notifylist.com