n o w p l a y i n g - s c r i p t b i n - f a n c l u b - s t u d i o

make love to the camera



Jan 10 2001 - 6:49 pm

Lawful Evil

Oooh! A rare 'late-night' entry. Collector's item!

We all remember that game from our youth, Dungeons & Dragons, don't we? You know, that game with the dice and pencils and papers and imagination. Back when Bill was Young Pudgy Bill, he played D&D all he could. No girls were talking to him, anyway. So why not sit down with some orange pop and chips and be a nerd with the guys?

Well, those days are long gone. I'm still a nerd, and I'm far less pudgy, but somehow girls are talking to me. And I can talk to them without stammering and fidgeting. Most of the time. So now I don't play anymore.

I once saw a comedian do a bit about growing older. He said "Now that I'm 27, I don't have much time to think about Chewbacca's home planet anymore." That's how it is with me and D&D.

Anyway, let's get to the point, shall we? Good, then. In D&D, you play a character that you create from scratch. You choose his or her sex, race, profession, abilities, etc. Among those abilities is something called 'alignment.' Basically, it's the moral center of your character. You know, how good or bad you are. You can choose anywhere from Lawful Good to Neutral to Chaotic Evil, and a few ranges in between.

I pulled out my old books in a fit of nostalgia. Looking through them, I was struck by a page that contained the description for the alignment 'Lawful Evil.' I quote from the book:

"Lawful Evil: These characters believe structure and organization elevate those who deserve to rule. They prefer a clearly defined hierarchy between master and servant. If someone is hurt or suffers because of a law that benefits Lawful Evil characters, then too bad. Lawful evil characters obey laws out of fear of punishment or pride of power. Because they honor any contract or oath they have made, lawful evil characters are very careful about giving their word. Once given, they break their word only if they can find a way to do it legally, within the laws of society."

Republicans, anyone?

Last Time On FadeIn - Next Week's Show

i am one bad updater:

enter email to find out when i update. powered by notifylist.com